Uprooted Magnolia

With the Wyoming Wind, I Travel the Open Roads

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on July 25, 2014

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I have been overworking and underposting and well, I’ve missed you. But it’s for a good cause.
I have the good fortune to be on the road photographing State Parks around Wonderful Wyoming. Tough life, right? Yeah, well, it is A LOT of time on interstates and back roads and a lot of hard work. But I am having great fun and making friends around the state is definitely a plus. In just seven days of shooting, my lens and I have captured bull elk, bull moose, rock chucks, a herd of bison, big horn sheep, pelicans, charcoal kilns, a ghost town and plenty of antelope and bunnies. I’ve been to prison ( 😉 ), historic forts, and have dodged rattlesnakes and skunks. I’ve even helped to herd cattle off of a park nature trail back to their ranch ground. I had a close call in my Honda with a herd of cow elk and their calves. I was in such shock that I couldn’t get my camera and myself out of the car quick enough to get their portraits. Phew! I’m outta breath.
Anyway, I plan to share bits of this project here when I can. I’ll be heading back out in a couple of days for several more stops but for now, I will be in my office backing up my work in 3 different places for safe-keeping. I have a couple more projects on the burner that need my attention as well. That’s how it is during the warmer months in Wyoming; you gotta get it all done before the hot summer turns to a chilled winter.
I’ll be in touch my friends. xo


6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. shahini sengupta said, on July 26, 2014 at 12:19 am

    beautiful picture..

    Like

  2. Lili said, on July 26, 2014 at 5:44 am

    That sounds just wonderful! Must be great to work with what you love.

    I like the picture as well. All your photos are fantastic!

    Like

  3. Christine Hendler said, on July 26, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    You are “living the dream”! Beautiful photo! Looking forward to seeing more. Wyoming is truly God’s country:)! (Especially in the summer 🙂

    Like

  4. Doris said, on July 27, 2014 at 7:34 am

    You truly are living the dream, Leah. Can’t wait to see more photos and hear more stories about how you got them. 🙂

    Like

  5. Laurie said, on July 27, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    Keep up the hard work and just give us a snippet every now and then to know you’re still alive and kickin’. I’m sure when you’re home you need to spend lots of time with the Tilda girl…oh yeah and poor ol’ Patrick!

    Like

  6. melielhot13 said, on September 13, 2014 at 2:13 am

    hi, superior blog I find your picture so beautiful I also have a blog if you want to take a look it’s neck “toutcommechienetchat.wordpress.com” buy. comes to.

    Like


Leave a Reply

