Uprooted Magnolia

Weaning in the Rain

Posted in Cattle Roundup, Nature, Photography, Ranching, Stormy Skies by leahyetter on September 23, 2013

It’s been a whole week since I last spoke with you all. My excuse is that I came down with a major head cold that stopped me in my tracks. My ears are still echoing but I’m through the worst of it I hope. It happened when we went from warm sunny days to immediate overcast and rain showers. And this day of weaning our calves on the mountain probably didn’t help much.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I was in the pickup so I didn’t get too wet during the gather. But with assistance from some cowboys and cake (mineral snacks for the cows), we had a successful gather.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

It was just a cool mist during the first hour of the gather but as soon as we got to the corrals, it was really raining.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

The cowboys separated the cow mommas from the grown calves.      ©Leah Yetter Photographer

Mommas peered through the fence while I guarded the gate.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Calves called out for momma….

©Leah Yetter Photographer

…and momma called out for baby.
This is my least favorite part of ranch life but it’s part of it. The calves are physically ready to leave momma but not emotionally. They never are. Neither am I.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

As we left with the trailer load of calves, the rain was really coming down. Then it rained for the entire week. This was two weeks ago and we weren’t able to bring the cow mommas off the mountain until this past weekend. The roads were muddy and washed out and the trailer wouldn’t have made it.
As of this weekend, we are all home and are gearing up for winter. The cows are successfully bred and they’ll have their new babies in the spring. Looking forward to our first winter on our new ranch.


3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WestEastern said, on September 23, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Thanks for sharing and do feel better!

    Like

  2. napperscompanion said, on September 23, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    I have to say cow #20 doesn’t look like she was having much fun with the process. Peace, John

    Like

  3. suzysomething said, on September 23, 2013 at 6:28 pm

    I love what you call getting all the cows together; “The Gather” (the caps give it the respect that it seems to need in the course of this comment). It sounds like a movie title—which could be for both feel-good movies and horror stories. Thanks for sharing a true Wyoming cattle ranch experience!

    Like


Leave a comment