Uprooted Magnolia

Drift Bustin’

Posted in Photography by leahyetter on January 11, 2017

As I reflect on our last storm, just last week, big snow flakes are falling outside my window.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

The wind had been howling for days, moving the six inches of snow into drifts and rivers and packed the roads with ice. So of course Patrick said, “let’s take a drive to the hills”. I bundled up, we buckled up and took a drive in the comfort of the truck. No ATV this time for me.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

This is what’s called a blizzard. A ground blizzard. It doesn’t have to be actively snowing to be a blizzard. The wind was blowing 25 to 30 mph with gusts up to 60 mph.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

As soon as the truck made a track, it drifted back in.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

We came out of the hills and had a great view of the blowing snow on and below Squaw Mountain.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Closer to home, the snow was whipping around hay bales.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I find it spooky yet fascinating when the snow blows. It dances in swirls all over the road creating a scene from a scary movie or a disco. It’s dangerous if you aren’t careful navigating through it, but pretty groovy to watch.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

We busted through a couple of drifts to get down to the meadow to feed the cows. But that isn’t blowing snow you see surrounding the cattle. The snow and fog you see around them is a result of their hot breath and a wide open run straight for us.

When the wind comes up, it warms us up. It took a couple of days but we warmed right up into the 40’s and most of the snow melted. It finally stopped blowing some time in the early morning this morning and then, the snow started to fall. And so the cycle continues.

Keep toasty, y’all!


 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Betty said, on January 11, 2017 at 2:38 pm

    I so enjoy your photos but so glad I’m here & no snow , but it’s lovely to look at. I just read your bio & I see you had a lovely yellow cat, I have one too, his name is Sam short for Samson ( lots of hair). I’ll visually loan him to you if you like :))) (pics on my blog.)

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 13, 2017 at 9:37 am

      Awe thanks, Betty. I miss my Matilda on a daily basis. A year or so after she passed, a kitten found me and has attached herself to me. I love her dearly but she isn’t anything like my Baby Angel ‘Tilda. I’ll take a look at your guy Samson. Give him a big hug for me.

      Like


Leave a Reply

