Uprooted Magnolia

Whipped Snow

Posted in Photography, Winter by leahyetter on February 4, 2016

As I mentioned yesterday, we’ve been under a “ground blizzard” watch. It’s basically like a sandstorm, but with snow.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

But yesterday morning, as the sun rose, it was perfectly still and beautiful.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

And by mid-afternoon, as I showed you yesterday, it was still gorgeous.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

By 4pm, I noticed from the comfort of my dining room window, the over 30 inches of snow was moving in the hills.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I hightailed up the driveway again so I could show you this fierce beauty.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

It was blowing down here but nothing like up there.
I love the look of the whipped waves of snow. Mmmm…this image inspired me to put whipped coconut cream in my coffee this morning.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

By sundown, it was still blowing but not too hard here yet. Overnight, however, the wind speed picked up. Thankfully, it’s warmer today. Continues to blow, but warmer.
My thoughts and prayers are with those in higher elevations trying to feed livestock in all that snow and wind. Warmer temperatures are in the forecast for next week so we hope to see some significant snow melt. I don’t think there is any more snowfall in the forecast for a little while.
I’m off to break ice in the water tanks. I’ll put rocks in my pockets so don’t worry ’bout me. I’m just fine. It’s just another day in paradise. 🙂


 

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. f-stop mama said, on February 4, 2016 at 11:22 am

    Beautiful photos! Simply stunning place you live. Thanks for sharing & stay warm!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AngelCollins said, on February 4, 2016 at 12:58 pm

    This is just beautiful. I love your landscape. How do you not end up on the porch just looking out all day. It would be very distracting for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • leahyetter said, on February 9, 2016 at 10:23 am

      Well, it’s too cold and windy to sit on the porch! BUT, we have a wall of windows at the north and west end of the house with a great view of the mountains and the meadows. So yeah, I spend a lot of time there being distracted. 🙂

      Like

  3. savvybookkeeping said, on February 4, 2016 at 3:43 pm

    Stunning photos! Don’t get snow here and have only ever been in the snow once on holiday.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. natashaski said, on February 5, 2016 at 11:15 am

    Beautiful photos!
    You middle shot reminds me of the clouds over mountains I saw in central Wyoming a few weeks ago:

    Liked by 1 person

  5. furrygnome said, on February 7, 2016 at 7:13 pm

    It looks like pardise! Beautiful pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. parijatshukla2014 said, on February 11, 2016 at 7:37 am

    nice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. smackedpentax said, on April 10, 2016 at 8:48 am

    These are superb 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

