Uprooted Magnolia

Abstract Study

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on June 1, 2015

©Leah Yetter Photographer

This past Saturday was our monthly Art Guild meeting and we had the pleasure of having the Art Mobile come and educate us on Abstract Art. Our teacher challenged us to stand in front of a piece of abstract art of our choice for 5 whole minutes and then we’d discuss how that piece made us feel. Many of the artists were deeply opposed to this kind of art and made it very known in the beginning. But everyone sat and wrote or drew their thoughts on their work of choice and we had a lively discussion afterwards. Some pieces made people feel frustrated, others felt happy and whimsical. Some found a piece told a story from their childhood.  I focused on one that made me feel comfortable and reminded me of Polaroid photos. Anyway, it was a real treat and we all enjoyed it very much! It inspired me to re-visit my freelensing and reverse macro techniques yesterday while shooting landscapes for a client. Because of all the moisture we’ve had lately, wildflowers are popping up like crazy.


11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. markdunne2013 said, on June 1, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    Wow love this.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on June 2, 2015 at 8:09 am

      Thank you! I really like it too! I took several but they weren’t quite right and I had a lot of camera shake. This one turned out soft and sweet.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. dianegates said, on June 1, 2015 at 12:37 pm

    Like your pictures much, much better ❤

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on June 2, 2015 at 8:08 am

      Thanks Diane! Just to clarify, this is right out of my camera. I remove the lens and reverse it to get a close-up shot of the flower. But it goes to show that people have very different view of abstract. From what I’ve seen, people love it or hate it, there is no in-between. Thanks for your feedback! It’s always nice to hear from you. 🙂

      Like

  3. Betty said, on June 1, 2015 at 5:10 pm

    Pretty color. Reminds me of sweetpeas in my Mothers garden..

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on June 2, 2015 at 8:06 am

      I love sweetpeas! They are so pretty. I should have shown what the full plant is. The flowers are tiny. I’ll have to post it.

      Like

  4. Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat said, on June 1, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    I like this a lot.

    Like

  5. Laurie said, on June 2, 2015 at 6:06 am

    This picture is so cool! What you can get a camera to do is amazing!

    Like

  6. shopgeoevo said, on June 24, 2015 at 7:00 pm

    This has a very ethereal feel to it. Love it

    Like


Leave a Reply

