Uprooted Magnolia

-3º at Sunrise

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on November 12, 2014

©Leah Yetter Photographer

A friend of ours called this morning and said it was -29º at his place but he lives in the mountains. It’s only three below zero here. My goodness! There isn’t a lot of snow on the ground however. The air is just so cold and cuts like a knife. I stepped out for a couple of seconds to shoot the sunrise illuminating the Peak. My skin tightened up, my eyeballs teared up and froze and camera strap grew stiff. I think I’ll stay in until it warms up a little. At least until it gets above zero.
Stay warm folks! It’s not even “officially” winter yet!


15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John Carenen said, on November 12, 2014 at 8:34 am

    Leah, I really enjoy your blogs. Entertaining and informative. And the photos are a plus. Regarding today’s blog, my main reaction is that I hope you have indoor plumbing. Keep ’em coming. You’re a fine writer AND phtographer.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 12, 2014 at 9:09 am

      Ha! Thank you John! Always nice to hear from you.
      Well, we do have a well. But not the rope and pulley with a bucket kind. There are actual pipes that run into the house. We even have a little heater in the well to keep pipes above freezing. So yep, we’re all set with indoor plumbing. Thank goodness! 🙂

      Like

  2. thewestusa said, on November 12, 2014 at 9:12 am

    It’s funny because I can’t feel the cold in this pic 😉

    Like

  3. robertkarolakstudio said, on November 12, 2014 at 9:39 am

    I hear ya Leah!!! It’s to soon and to harsh!! Heard it will be above 40’s next week.
    Stay warm and be safe… keep those great photos and terrific words coming!

    Like

  4. Betty said, on November 12, 2014 at 9:59 am

    Love your blog and photos…Some of that cold weather is coming my way here in N.C.this weekend but I think I’m ready. Today it’s going up to 70 then BURRRRR..

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 13, 2014 at 9:27 am

      Hang in there Betty! Tomorrow I think we’re going to get up to 35. But then another cold weekend.

      Like

  5. Elisa said, on November 12, 2014 at 11:27 am

    uhm is that 29 below 0 F??!?!

    Like

  6. Bonnie Parker said, on November 13, 2014 at 7:31 am

    Beautiful Leah! We had 18 below, I must be on the warm side of the mountain! lol

    Like

  7. cooking with audrey said, on November 14, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    i wondered how this cold front effected you.. 😉 mostly snow over here.

    Like

  8. ngobesingromanus said, on November 22, 2014 at 3:29 am

    Hi Leah! You have a wonderful blog here; and the pictures are simply fascinating. I enjoy them much.Bravo on great job!

    Like

  9. curso de fotografia - Bruno said, on November 27, 2014 at 7:57 am

    Interesting, people use to like what is not comun for then. I live in Brazil, normally warm or hot, some very few day below fresing. I love the sensation of a very cold enviroment, like antartica, where I have being lucky to be several times.

    Like


Leave a Reply

