Uprooted Magnolia

The Light Before the Storm

Posted in Horses, Nature, Photography by leahyetter on November 10, 2014

The wind blew all day yesterday. I mean it howled (still is today, but with snow circling as well).
So we decided to go down and check on the cows and horses and give them a little cake.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

The light was stunning! The sunsets and sunrises have been spectacular these last couple of weeks.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I think I’ll call this one The Gray Ghost. He just wouldn’t stand still for his portrait!
Shooting in very low light is always tough and I had my old 40D with me. These shots are quite grainy but I think it gives them even more character. 🙂
Maybe I’ll have some snow reports for you tomorrow. The weather is so weird right now. Cheers!


12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. peaceofsummer said, on November 10, 2014 at 2:31 pm

    Beautiful photos!

    Like

  2. Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat said, on November 10, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    Beautiful sky, beautiful horses and beautiful photos.

    Like

  3. carolscash said, on November 10, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    I love the horses. We also have horses. I see that the wind is beginning to pick up here too and I sure hope we don’t see the snow.

    Like

  4. Christine Hendler said, on November 11, 2014 at 7:21 pm

    As usual, your photos are breathtaking! Thank you!!

    Like

  5. Betty said, on November 12, 2014 at 10:09 am

    Beautiful photos Leah….How’s Matilda doing in the cold weather. I have a orange tabby too (pic’s on my webpage)

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 13, 2014 at 9:26 am

      Thanks Betty! Tilda does NOT like the cold. I have her bed by the fire with a heating pad on it. Poor 17 year old beautiful girl.

      Like

  6. Curso-Fotografia-BSellmer said, on November 17, 2014 at 5:20 am

    I like the second horse. The angle, the colors in the sky and the horse positions made the difference.

    Like

  7. gordy1983 said, on November 22, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    Great photography- very atmospheric!

    Like

  8. eyes cast down said, on November 23, 2014 at 10:58 am

    I can feel the cold in that first shot… splendid!

    Like

  9. Curso-Fotografia-BSellmer said, on December 22, 2014 at 5:14 am

    the efects are realy cool

    Like

  10. mlfitts said, on December 24, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    Wow, just stunning. I want to teleport there right now. I think the Grey Ghost is my favorite (my horse NEVER stood still for pictures 🙂 )

    Like


Leave a Reply

