Uprooted Magnolia

Once a Nestling, Now a Young Owl

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on June 5, 2014

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I took this image of the Great Horned Owl and her Nestling exactly three weeks ago. I’ve been checking on them every other day or so since then and they’ve been hanging out and stretching their wings. I guess momma has been teaching baby to fly for some time now. I knew the time was drawing near.

I’ve gone to the bluff every day this week.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

The nest is empty. It has been quiet there all week. I’d say their timing is good because the river is up so high and is raging past the bluffs. The nestling is now a young owl and is flying the skies with ma and pa. I do hope they will come back and reuse this nest. Or at least stay around the area.

What an adventure it has been and I am delighted I got to share this with my folks and with you all. 🙂


2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Debbie Yetter said, on June 5, 2014 at 11:08 am

    You’ll miss watching them. It was so fun when we were there. Good luck baby owl !!

    Like

  2. Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat said, on June 8, 2014 at 5:53 pm

    I hope they’ll be back.

    Like


Leave a Reply

