Uprooted Magnolia

They’re Back! and so am I…

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on April 25, 2014

The Sandhill Cranes made it back a couple months ago and cause quite a raucous daily. They are loud and flutter all over the meadow chasing off other cranes.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

But what’s funny is when I look out over the meadow I’ll sometimes a group of calves scatter.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I think they get spooked when the cranes takes off and I’ll see the cows all chasing their calves trying to find the right one. It’s a funny sight.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

They are impressive birds and are quite large.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

And are VERY loud with beady yellow eyes.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Most of the time they all get along but it get’s a little National Geographic-ish sometimes out here!

I’ve got one cow to have her calf and then we’ll be done. Now we just have to keep them alive and healthy over the next few months. But the overly stressful part is coming to an end. My calendar is starting to book up with shoots and I am excited about the weather warming up. Even though we have more snow in the forecast, we have made through the worst of it. I hope to get back to being regular here as cowboy season is upon us.

Have a great weekend folks!


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elisa said, on April 25, 2014 at 7:28 am

    I bet this will be odd to you…thank you for this message, I might now have got it through my slow head 🙂

    Like

  2. Emily Grace said, on April 25, 2014 at 9:24 am

    Lovely photos! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Tom Bland said, on April 25, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    You’re very lucky to have such a nature show taking place in your backyard!

    Like

  4. revellingsjoy said, on May 1, 2014 at 10:39 am

    Reblogged this on Crystal Harrison.

    Like


Leave a Reply

