Uprooted Magnolia

Snow Puddles

Posted in Calving, Photography by leahyetter on February 20, 2014

©Leah Yetter Photographer

The heavy snow has melted and we have puddles all over the meadow. This morning I started my daily rounds of checking the ladies. They are in their last trimester and calves will start landing next month. We have two heifers (first time mothers) and I have to keep an even closer eye on them.  The cattle are good about coming to me because they think I’m there to feed them. It gives me a good chance to count them, walk through them and just basically look them over. I can tell when they are close to calving  just by looking at them as they walk away.
Once Patrick finishes the fence surrounding our house, we will bring them closer to the house so that I can check them easily. Plus, they tend to cross the river to have their calf and that becomes dangerous for the calf when she decides to cross the river back into the meadow to graze. Therefore, I like to keep them close.
This is our first year calving at our place and my first year of doing it mostly alone. Since Patrick has a day job, it’s up to me to monitor the process. I thankfully have a call list if  I have problems and Patrick can’t get here. Time to break out the shoulder-high gloves and chains. (just kidding)
The pressure is on so wish me luck!


10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Editors of Garden Variety said, on February 20, 2014 at 9:30 am

    What a beautiful picture!

    Like

  2. Belinda said, on February 20, 2014 at 9:47 am

    I wish you luck! That is quite an experience! Nice images to
    kind regards

    Like

  3. robertkarolakstudio said, on February 20, 2014 at 10:00 am

    Wow Leah!! You’re becoming more and more a Rancher and Cowgirl!! Good Luck …
    Bob

    Like

  4. ranu802 said, on February 20, 2014 at 10:13 am

    Yes,good luck.

    Like

  5. Karen Hunnicutt said, on February 20, 2014 at 11:22 am

    I love your posts especially about the girls. I helped my husband all the time with our Cattle and loved it. Don’t forget to take your Watch off if you have to pull a calf. Haha Have a great Thursday.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  6. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on February 20, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    Ah, the things you have learned in the past few years!!! I hope you don’t need those gloves!

    Like

  7. Annette said, on February 20, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    Best of luck to you this calving season. We have about 10 calves so far. We expect 300 or so! You sound confident so I think you will have no troubles – as long as the girls behave!

    Like

  8. Laurie said, on February 21, 2014 at 7:52 am

    You’ll do great! You can always put me on that call list too.

    Like

  9. Emily Grace said, on February 21, 2014 at 9:16 am

    You’ll do great! Woman’s intuition and dogged determination to bring life into the world serves our bovine ladies well.

    Like

  10. solesisterjuliet said, on February 21, 2014 at 9:22 am

    I have to say I am awed at the thought of you monitoring the calving season. Wow. Best of luck – and wonderful photos, always.

    Like


Leave a Reply

