Uprooted Magnolia

All Bundled Up

Posted in Photography, Winter by leahyetter on February 3, 2014

The wind finally died down and snow started to stick Thursday evening. When Patrick got home, we went out to feed the cows. They get so excited when they here the crumpling sound of the cake sack.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

As you can probably tell, they NEVER miss a meal and Patrick just about got trampled by the excited girls.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Friday and Saturday mornings were overcast and snow squalls blew through several times a day giving us 3 or 4 inches on the ground. Days like these call for bundling up in my snowmobiling coveralls for a wander to the meadows to check on critters.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I got a wink and a smile from Gray. I can tell he’s having fun because he’s covered in mud. Pretty typical for this guy.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Crabby Alice debated on whether or not she wanted to come over and visit with me.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

The Bay horse in the background is a bit bashful so he doesn’t get portraits very often. But I’ll get him one day.
Alice needs to wipe her nose. 😉

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I love the pattern and chaos of the Cottonwood tree forest that surrounds us.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

We celebrated Patrick’s birthday this weekend by chopping firewood, sitting by the river, and enjoying the quiet scenery of home. And of course I demanded a Birthday portrait of us. I used my new trigger remote with the camera on the tripod and my nifty fifty lens.
We have more snow ahead of us this week but the sun came out yesterday and today. Hello February!


12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gail said, on February 3, 2014 at 10:52 am

    Good for you, on requesting a birthday portrait, and a great one at that.
    Yes, great Cottonwood puzzle.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 3, 2014 at 11:01 am

      Thanks Gail! It’s so chilly that we almost got stuck in the lip to cheek kiss! 😉
      These majestic Cottonwoods are so awesome in every season, I just love them.

      Like

  2. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on February 3, 2014 at 10:57 am

    Stay warm and tell that boy Happy Birthday!

    Like

  3. robertkarolakstudio said, on February 3, 2014 at 11:06 am

    What a great way to celebrate February!! Happy Birthday Patrick!! You’re in Good Company… my daughters birthday is today and my anniversary is this Thursday.. You both should have a fantastic year- Well Deserved!

    Like

  4. txgg said, on February 3, 2014 at 11:44 am

    A trigger remote! I love it! And I want one!

    Like

  5. pony said, on February 3, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    happy birthday to Patrick! Cha! Cha! Cha! Great pictures!

    Like

  6. Doris said, on February 3, 2014 at 3:15 pm

    Love Alice’s white nose. And the girls look well-fed and healthy. Happy Birthday, Patrick!

    Like

  7. aspiringimagesbyrachel said, on February 3, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    I wasn’t even aware snowmobiling coveralls existed! I bet they have to be super duper warm with that extra wind. I love the cows getting so excited. I bet they are just too sweet. I love seeing your photos of life in Wyoming. I was born there but haven’t been back since I was 3 months old. Maybe someday.

    Like

  8. itchierfeet said, on February 3, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    A really great set of winter images. Somehow doesn’t make me feel cold though 🙂

    Like

  9. furrygnome said, on February 4, 2014 at 6:52 pm

    I love the pictures. Such a different landscape from here.

    Like


Leave a Reply

