Uprooted Magnolia

“With My Back to the Sunset, I Saw the Light”

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on January 17, 2014

©Leah Yetter Photographer

It’s still winter. And it’s still windy. But sometimes, when the wind rages all day long, our sunsets look like paintings from the heavens above. This particular evening, I turned my back to the sunset and saw the light had turned the dry, yellow meadow grass to red and gold and the sky was royal blue. The air was still so I took a seat and breathed it in. We cherish those moments of calm after an anxiety-ridden wind storm.
I shot this with my Canon nifty 50mm f/1.4 on the Canon 70D. I just got this lens back from the “spa”. It has been unusable for several months and I forgot how much I enjoy shooting with a fixed lens. I love the selective focus on the blades of grass. And I did zero color correcting in post processing. The 70D with the 50mm is a rockin’ setup!
Happy shooting my friends!


6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ranu802 said, on January 17, 2014 at 10:34 am

    Nice photograph.

    Like

  2. whiskeytangofoxtrot4 said, on January 17, 2014 at 11:11 am

    I have the same lens and it is my fave go to. Great shot too!

    Like

  3. Francine said, on January 17, 2014 at 11:51 am

    Beautiful! 50mm and 35mm lenses are my favorites. So dreamy looking.

    Like

  4. Seasweetie said, on January 17, 2014 at 3:19 pm

    There are some sunsets where the shade of blue is a color that I’m certain could only come from heaven. It is still winter, yes, but I’m sure I felt the very first hint of spring this morning. Happy weekend!

    Like

  5. Doris said, on January 19, 2014 at 6:27 am

    I love the title of this post, Leah, it really captures the idea behind the picture. I have seen similar shades of blue and yellow around here when the sunset lights up the barren trees. The scenery is somewhat unreal at times. This kind of light transports the spectator to different realms …

    Enjoy your Sunday!
    Doris

    Like

  6. f-stop mama said, on January 21, 2014 at 11:44 am

    I have the same lens for my Nikon and it is by far my favorite! Great shot.

    Like


Leave a Reply

