Uprooted Magnolia

Tilda Tuesday: Her Orangeness

Posted in Matilda, Photography by leahyetter on July 16, 2013

“There are many intelligent species in the universe. They are all owned by cats.” – Anonymous
©Leah Yetter Photographer

Matilda is and has been an important part of my life for 16 years. 16 years! That puts her at about 80 in human years.  She’s been there for me in good times and bad. Through breakups, new apartments, new cars, old cameras, and she’s been the first test shots on new cameras. She’s furry’d up my outfits laid out for a night on the town, coughed up a hairball or two in my favorite shoes, and more than once has jumped up on the counter to steal a couple licks out of my ice cream bowl. I was there for her when she went loco after eating a lizard, fought with the neighborhood bully cat(s), brought a chipmunk, lizard, and bird inside…and then lost them somewhere in the house.  I cared for her when she broke her leg chasing her own shadow down the long staircase in my Georgia home, and when the recalled cat food tried to kill our beloved pets a few years ago, I nursed her back to good health.  But without a doubt, her most important role was being my main comforter when my mother passed away 6 1/2 years ago. That’s probably when we grew closest. So it only seems right for her to have a section here on this blog, especially now that we have entered the geriatric years of her life.  She has appeared here every now and then but as of today, Tilda Tuesday will be put into action. For how long, I’m not sure. I will share new portraits and ones from the archives in no particular order. She has her own little fan club and friends and I know they will appreciate a regular Matilda update and portrait. I hope you will enjoy them too.


18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bonnie said, on July 16, 2013 at 7:29 am

    I love your photos of Matilda Leah, I have a “Hoss” cat ” that adopted us after someone must have dumped him
    out up here on the mountain and he survived a winter in the wild. Keep the photos coming.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on July 16, 2013 at 7:49 am

      Thanks Bonnie! Yeah, it’s amazing what they can survive through out here. My girl is an indoor cat now-a-days. The vet bills got too high for having an outside cat! 🙂

      Like

  2. Tom Bland said, on July 16, 2013 at 7:31 am

    I certainly enjoyed the introduction to Matilda so I look forward to further portraits. What exactly happens to a cat when it eats a lizard though!?

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on July 16, 2013 at 7:47 am

      Ha! Well, I don’t know what kind of lizard it was but this happened when we lived in Georgia. She was at the sliding glass door wanting to come in. I saw a lizard tail beside her and she was staring through me with black eyes and foaming at the mouth. I left her on the back deck and watched her twitch and jump around and act completely wild for about 15 minutes or so. Once she settled down, she came in and slept the rest of the day and night. Never really knew what kind of lizard it was and it never happened again. She just had a bad trip..thank goodness she survived it. 🙂

      Like

  3. Tina Willis said, on July 16, 2013 at 7:46 am

    I love Matilda. It is hard when we realize they are getting older faster than we are. She looks to be in excellent health….she looks so perky in this picture. Keep em comin!!!!!

    Like

  4. nancyfullbright said, on July 16, 2013 at 8:02 am

    Love Miss Tilda — and you too, Leah! Your posts cheer my days more than you will ever know. Miss you, friend.

    Like

  5. okiewashere said, on July 16, 2013 at 8:08 am

    I am looking forward to reading more about Matilda. And I wholeheartedly agree with Tina. 🙂

    Like

  6. ranu802 said, on July 16, 2013 at 8:09 am

    And Matilda is gorgeous!

    Like

  7. Francine said, on July 16, 2013 at 8:24 am

    So sweet, I love this. Cats are such amazing little creatures. Makes me understand why Egyptians worshiped them 😉 Yours is beautiful!

    Like

  8. cookiesrainandlove said, on July 16, 2013 at 8:55 am

    Beautiful photo and an even more beautiful story.. 🙂

    Like

  9. Txgg said, on July 16, 2013 at 10:30 am

    Thank you for sharing Matilda with me! As I am only 71, she might just consider me a youngster!

    Like

  10. Caitlin @ The Siren's Tale said, on July 16, 2013 at 10:53 am

    I’m looking forward to Tilda Tuesdays! What a beautiful cat… and it sounds like she is the best friend, partner in crime, and confidant a pet owner could ask for 🙂

    Like

  11. Trudy Darman said, on July 16, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    I love this shot! I have a Sir Orangeness…about the same age. Equally as photogenic and loved. Thank you:-)

    Like

  12. pixel46 said, on July 17, 2013 at 5:56 am

    L’ha ribloggato su Operazione Tortellino.

    Like

  13. bluebrightly said, on July 17, 2013 at 10:29 pm

    I love the quote, and the photo. I had an orange cat through thick & thin as well, for 16 years. And my mother had a dog named Matilda. So I’m relating! Tilda Tues sounds good!

    Like

  14. Jill Meade said, on July 20, 2013 at 12:22 am

    I am going to like Tilda Tuesdays

    Like

  15. happycat13 said, on July 20, 2013 at 10:45 am

    I love all kitties, but I must admit there is a very special affinity for orange marmalade tabbies! I miss my little dude. That is a beautiful picture of your baby.

    Like

  16. naturalramblings said, on July 21, 2013 at 6:02 am

    Thanks for sharing Matilda with us, what a special cat. I lost mine after 15 years early this year and miss him terribly. I completely understand how they are there for you, that little head nudge when your feeling low to say thay care. It means the world. I look forward to Tilda Tuesdays.
    Im new to wordpress and just found your site love it.
    XxX

    Like


Leave a Reply

