Uprooted Magnolia

Red-winged Blackbirds

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on May 7, 2013

©Leah Yetter Photographer

While it pours down rain today (yay!), I am getting settled into our summer home and decided I should clean off my camera cards. I thought I’d share one final wintery image with you of red-winged blackbirds perched on the fence outside my office window. This was shot during our last heavy snow (just 6 days ago). At least there is a splash of color there. That red wing was the only color we saw for a couple days.
I’m hoping for the color green to pop up soon. We’re getting some incredible moisture here lately and I’m ready for some new life to our earth out here!


11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mittsandmeasures said, on May 7, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    That is a really nice shot! I hope you get some green soon, too!

    Like

  2. LindaGHill said, on May 7, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    This would make a beautiful Christmas card. 🙂

    Like

  3. ranu802 said, on May 7, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    I feel bad for the poor birds getting wet.are they on the clothesline or electric wire? You captured them well.
    Ranu

    Like

  4. Jane Lurie said, on May 7, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Love this image especially that the pop of color is flying away…

    Like

  5. Crystal Harrison said, on May 7, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    Great shot! We have a lot of red winged blackbirds here in our spot of heaven in Delta, British Columbia. They are a major part of the bird population that I feed during the fall and winter. My other favourites are the ring necked doves that I enjoy immensely. 🙂

    Like

  6. Francine said, on May 7, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    I love red-winged blackbirds. Nothing says spring to me quite like hearing them make that recognizable chirp. Makes me think of the shore.

    Like

  7. Harrie said, on May 8, 2013 at 6:37 am

    Hi. Very nice photo! and you have a lot of them. Enjoyed very much looking around. Cheers, harrie.

    Like

  8. rosanne said, on May 10, 2013 at 10:56 am

    I”m really in love with your pictures!

    Like

  9. bluebrightly said, on May 10, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    What a fantastic image. Your skills and eye really come through. I look forward to seeing your spring –

    Like

  10. John Coleman said, on May 12, 2013 at 10:32 am

    Love your photos. Thanks, John

    Like

  11. […] Red-winged Blackbirds […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

