Uprooted Magnolia

Winter Tones

Posted in Nature, Photography, Winter by leahyetter on January 24, 2013

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Snow has blown away and ice is melting into small ponds around the meadows. I enjoyed a nice walk yesterday while the wind had some downtime and was happy to stumble upon this scene. The gray and gold really does work together here. I like the limb patterns against the overcast winter sky and a smooth reflection is always appreciated.
Have a great day my friends!


12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elisa said, on January 24, 2013 at 8:38 am

    Pretty pretty! It is so nice to see ooo ahhh images of winter. It’s inspiring and encourages me to trek outside to locate my own. Ok, maybe not today, windchills still below zero here brrrrrr. I do not know, in the amazing winter image if it is amazing because of the way it shows death, the way it shows dormancy, or in the way Life is exhibited as still being vibrant. Perhaps, to me, the better winter images, encompass all three?!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 24, 2013 at 8:44 pm

      Oooo below zero, those days are tough. We are fortunate enough to have warm spurts in between our single digit and below zero days. Yesterday was one of those. I think I like winter because it encompasses dormancy but can still be vibrant. I like how everything just goes to sleep. All watered and fed and down for a long siesta. And gratefully for my camera and I, we are able to capture this sleepy nature and it puts a smile on my face during a tough time of year. I try to embrace and enjoy the quiet of winter but ugh, sometimes I want to explode!!! 🙂 Thanks for commenting Elisa, so nice to meet you.

      Like

  2. mountainsunshinewyo said, on January 24, 2013 at 9:16 am

    I love your pictures…I also live in Wyoming and you never fail to remind me why! THANK YOU!

    Like

  3. Lenore Diane said, on January 24, 2013 at 10:33 am

    This picture is beautiful, considering the cloudy sky and bare branches. Amazing.

    Like

  4. Dan Traun - Outdoor Guy Photography said, on January 24, 2013 at 10:57 am

    beautiful scene; great capture.

    Like

  5. ken said, on January 24, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    You get such a variety. Here it’s just green or brown.

    Like

  6. Nina C. said, on January 25, 2013 at 9:40 am

    Beautiful photo!:)

    Like

  7. André Mendes said, on January 27, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Amazing photo!

    Weird Images Caught from above the Earth
    http://www.weirdearthpictures.com

    Like

  8. Snapshooter said, on March 11, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    So gnarly and bleak….

    Like


Leave a Reply

