Uprooted Magnolia

All Brushed Up

Posted in Nature, Photography, Winter by leahyetter on January 9, 2013

©Leah Yetter Photographer

During calving time, we say “uh oh she’s all brushed up, she’s up to something, better go check it out”. This means she’s hiding in the brush most likely giving birth, about to give birth or has already given birth and doesn’t want to be bothered. Well, I’ve been “all brushed up” for over a week now. NOT giving birth, let’s keep that straight, but working on restyling leahyetter.com, archiving last years work on a new harddrive, processing images for my bestie and getting nervous about an old harddrive that is knocking on heaven’s door as I type this. It’s been very cold outside so it’s a good time to hide indoors, feed logs to the fire and work work work. I did go out for a hike when it warmed up to about 30 degrees and saw this doe all brushed up.
Anyway, I’ll be back here soon with some beauties I photographed before the new year. Patrick and I went for a hike in the hills and stumbled upon a herd that I dream about. Stay tuned. xoxo


7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jane said, on January 9, 2013 at 11:14 am

    How beautiful – and I learned a new term today – they say the day is not wasted if you learn one new thing. And your website/blod is anything but a waste. THANKS so much for sharing. A fire surely makes working a tad bit easier, right? 🙂 I can picture it – snow outside, warm crackling fire, laptop humming away… Looking forward to the pictures of “the herd” – but stay warm!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 9, 2013 at 2:04 pm

      Ah thank you Jane. I needed to hear/ read every word in your comment.
      Not only do I have the fire going, there is a small space heater at my feet. 🙂

      Like

      • Jill Meade said, on January 11, 2013 at 12:09 am

        I remember the cold Well when I was in ND The cold was bad but it was the wind that ran me inside thank you for all should shoot and share love you little neicey. Holding the rain back here in ga

        Like

      • leahyetter said, on January 14, 2013 at 12:23 pm

        Thanks Auntie Jill! Yeah, the wind really blows and it comes when the temperature goes up. We’ll probably see some of that later this week.

        Like

  2. melissakoski said, on January 9, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    I brushed up all spring, summer and fall, lurking in the fields and woods. I’m pretty excited to learn a phrase I can use and impress my western friends. (: Leah this winter we’re about 30″ below our average snowfall- again! We need the water. Have you gotten much snow?

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 14, 2013 at 12:25 pm

      Hi Melissa! I’ve asked before if we’re getting any significant moisture from our snows and I’m told that it really isn’t doing much. I haven’t gotten specific numbers from anyone but I did hear that there will be a big change in February. I don’t know what that means but hopefully it does mean moisture.
      Glad you have a new term to use. I’ve been brushed up a lot lately but I’m hoping that will change this year. We’ll see. Take care!

      Like

  3. Ellen said, on January 20, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    send you some rays of sun from BA!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

