Uprooted Magnolia

A Blanket, Soft and White

Posted in Nature, Photography, Winter by leahyetter on November 12, 2012

Snow started to fall on us early Saturday morning and came down of and on throughout the whole day. I walked my regular path between snows but still came home with my equipment covered in snowflakes.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

It was so still and so soft all weekend. The only thing I heard during my walk was a hawk flapping his wings above and a bald eagle that took off from somewhere near the river.
Today the wind is howling and soon we will be back to our a blanket of gold.


19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Seasweetie said, on November 12, 2012 at 9:24 am

    Beautiful, Leah. Those last two pictures are just perfect – something about the light, somehow….

    Your title, though, reminded me of my daughter’s “blankie”, her favorite thing in the world as a small child, which is now nothing but holes, yet still most beloved.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 13, 2012 at 1:26 pm

      Awe so sweet. I had a blankie that I loved for so long. It had turquoise puppies with yellow collars on it. I loved that thing and I’m sure it’s gone now. But I have it in some old pics.
      Thanks for the compliments! Glad to know that freezing my butt off pays off sometimes. 😉

      Like

  2. Lenore Diane said, on November 12, 2012 at 9:58 am

    Peaceful.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 13, 2012 at 1:24 pm

      Thanks Lenore. I read your post yesterday. I hope things are better today. 🙂

      Like

  3. Mary said, on November 12, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Beautiful photographs – you’ve got a great eye for finding appealing subjects.

    Like

  4. suzysomething said, on November 12, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Leah, I’ve taken the liberty of posting the last two photos on my FB timeline, and will also use them in one of my blogs and on Pinterest. I’m counting on your past permission to use your photos. These are just too beautiful not to share them. Just a heads-up to let you know they are out there

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 13, 2012 at 1:23 pm

      Sure thing Suzy, thanks for the compliment!

      Like

      • suzysomething said, on November 13, 2012 at 1:42 pm

        Leah, I can’t believe the amount of traffic that has been passing through my blog “Meandering in My Mind” I tagged photography because I wrote about Wyoming and added your beautiful photos. My blog also got picked up by another blogger who has a huge following. Your photos have gone around the world and back!
        Thank you so much for allowing me to share them. If you’d like to see the blog, you can find it at http://www.incidentalthinking.net.

        Like

      • leahyetter said, on November 13, 2012 at 1:48 pm

        Thanks Suzy! I knew you had started another blog but I couldn’t figure out where it was. I’ve been so busy with shoots and traveling back to Georgia for my best friend’s wedding that I’ve lost track of a few folks. Your post is so sweet. Isn’t it amazing how these things reach all corners of the world? I just love it. Thanks again for the kind words.

        Like

  5. Ellen said, on November 12, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    love the pictures!!!!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 13, 2012 at 1:23 pm

      Thanks Ellen! So glad to hear from you. I guess you are approaching summer now, right?

      Like

      • Ellen said, on November 13, 2012 at 2:20 pm

        Yes, I`m!! we had two weeks of scorching hot weather, this week, after a storm, it`s better but summer is round the corner!!!!!

        Like

  6. David Goorevitch said, on November 12, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    Lovely. I love the reds poking through!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 13, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      Thanks David, me too! It so subtle but there are there. It’s almost a black and white image except for that.

      Like

  7. grammysherrylooksatlife said, on November 12, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    love the pix, make me glad i’m in phoenix, though, BBRRRR

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 13, 2012 at 1:21 pm

      Ooh Phoenix, how lovely that must be. 🙂 But I do love it here, call me crazy!

      Like

  8. lylekrahn said, on November 20, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    It almost feels like you can drink in the cool air on that last shot. Nice.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 21, 2012 at 12:16 pm

      Thank you! I do enjoy a drink of cool air from time to time. I overheated in Georgia so I welcome the snowfall when I don’t have to drive anywhere. I like to just put on my hiking boots and explore the winter wonderland.

      Like


Leave a Reply

