Uprooted Magnolia

i voted 2012

Posted in Thankful by leahyetter on November 6, 2012

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I went to our lovely little courthouse last week to register to vote for the first time in my new town. I’ve voted in every presidential election since I was 18 years old and I couldn’t let this one go by without coloring in those ovals. What a great country we live in to have the freedom to make our own choices, to make our voices heard. I am so thankful for that and I get choked up thinking about it.
But I will admit this. I do not plan to watch and wait on the results tonight. I think I will crawl in bed with a good book and wait until tomorrow to hear the results. I am a news junkie and it sounds like there may be a mess on our hands with getting the final results in by tonight. I just don’t think I can handle any more anxiety over this election.

All of the drama aside, I hope you will all get out there and vote. No matter who your choice is, go let your vote count and your voice be heard. I promise you’ll feel a sense of pride and you will wear it all day. (because they give you a sticker) 😉
 


11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heidi Gruetzemacher said, on November 6, 2012 at 9:48 am

    Well said!

    Like

  2. Seasweetie said, on November 6, 2012 at 9:53 am

    Like you, I’ve voted in every presidential election since I was 18, and I sure won’t miss this one. I hope we don’t have too much controversy over the results, but I suspect that’s just wishful thinking.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 6, 2012 at 4:48 pm

      Yeah, who knows. Hopefully they have a grip on it all. We shall see.

      Like

  3. kelly said, on November 6, 2012 at 11:59 am

    A little historical pride for you too – Wyoming was the first territory to allow women to vote. Colorado was the first state. Hooray!

    Like

  4. Helen Cherry said, on November 6, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Do you really think you have a choice? Sadly the industrial war machine rumbles on in America whoever is President..

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on November 6, 2012 at 4:46 pm

      I absolutely have a choice in which little oval I color in on my ballot. Whether or not that choice is elected, I’m proud of the freedom I have to walk into the courthouse and fill out the ballot exactly how I would like.
      Yep, she will rumble on, whoever is President. We’re in rough shape no matter what.

      Like

      • Helen Cherry said, on November 6, 2012 at 4:50 pm

        Politics is so manipulated everywhere.. I know it is here in the UK.. but In America you really only have 2 candidates so the choice is very limikted isn’t it?

        Like

      • leahyetter said, on November 6, 2012 at 5:03 pm

        Yes, only two at this point. And then we have our local voting and amendments to vote on as well. It’s disgusting how manipulated it is. I used to be pretty bitter but I’ve chilled out and I try to be positive about it all these days. It’s not worth it to get all worked up and angry about something I have no control over. Ugh. I’m having a hard time not turning on the news tonight because all I’ll get is hit with is a bunch of stupid.

        Like

      • Helen Cherry said, on November 6, 2012 at 5:04 pm

        🙂

        Like

  5. suzysomething said, on November 6, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    Leah, I have the same feeling and want to metaphorically hide my head under the covers. A good book sounds just right!

    Like


Leave a Reply

