Uprooted Magnolia

Freelensing: a Snowflake

Posted in Nature, Photography, Winter by leahyetter on October 27, 2012

©Leah Yetter Photographer

A friend and mentor of mine suggested I try the freelensing technique with my nifty 50mm to get macro results. I love that snowflakes really do look like storybook snowflakes. I froze my fanny while working on this and I finally got one that I believe is worthy for your eyes. What do you think? Please keep in mind I am still trying to perfect this so don’t be too harsh.


16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. theimaginationmuscle said, on October 27, 2012 at 9:41 am

    Great shot, Leah! Take care, Anna

    Like

  2. Larry Who said, on October 27, 2012 at 9:58 am

    “…Please keep in mind I am still trying to perfect this so don’t be too harsh…”

    You aren’t related to my wife, are you?

    Like

  3. Kim said, on October 27, 2012 at 10:55 am

    WOW! So beautiful! I really like the softness created and how it focuses your attention! I’m going to have to try freelensing! 🙂

    Like

  4. scdreamcatcher said, on October 27, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Beautiful. Looks like you are doing just fine. I may have to try this. I really love the softness.

    Like

  5. suzysomething said, on October 27, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Beautiful….good photo, even if you are critical. We are always most critical of ourselves. PS. I’d love to come back to Wyoming, but my family is here in CA, and my old bones are accustomed to the milder weather. Don’t know if I could even get around in the snow….but I have fond memories.

    Like

  6. katieatthekitchendoor said, on October 28, 2012 at 11:15 am

    So lovely, I love the sparkle! I do find my eye wandering a bit though through all the blurred space up top… I wonder if a different crop would accentuate the contrast more? Thanks for sharing your photo experiments with us 🙂

    Like

  7. Rodney said, on October 28, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    That’s a great pic

    Like

  8. croesoacolorado said, on October 29, 2012 at 9:13 am

    Leah, could you explain more about the technique? I’ve been practicing macro shots with textiles and fibers, and I like to be able to control my aperture to focus on just a very small detail in the field, giving a crisp detail to the subject, but also leaving more to the imagination. I’m just getting started in photography, so I know practically zilch, but it is a blast!

    Anyway, the shot is very interesting and artistic from my watercolorist point of view. Well done!

    Like

  9. Kelly said, on October 29, 2012 at 10:59 am

    Wow! I love it!! Good work, and I can’t wait to see more!

    Like

  10. […] Freelensing: a Snowflake (leahyetter.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  11. idiosyncratic eye said, on October 30, 2012 at 6:08 am

    Love the focus. 🙂

    Like

  12. Janet Mackey said, on October 30, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    This is incredible, Leah! I think your efforts are praiseworthy already; can’t wait to see the magnificence of the perfected technique. Thank you for sending it out to us. You made my day.

    Like

  13. Lenore Diane said, on November 2, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    This picture reminds me of the beginning of Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer. A most excellent and very cool effect.

    Like

  14. Mary said, on November 3, 2012 at 9:04 am

    This is a really cool photograph – congratulations!

    Like

  15. daisyface1 said, on November 28, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    Oh! Spectacular!

    Date: Sat, 27 Oct 2012 15:32:20 +0000 To: thedonna@live.ca

    Like

  16. No Two Are Alike « Uprooted Magnolia said, on December 31, 2012 at 11:35 am

    […] More practice with freelensing… […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

