Uprooted Magnolia

a winding drive to Glade Park

Posted in Photography, Travel by leahyetter on August 17, 2012

Earlier this summer, I took a trip to Colorado for business and was fortunate enough to have to drive through the Colorado National Monument to get to where I needed to be.
From Wikipedia: Colorado National Monument (locally referred to as The Monument) is a part of the National Park Service near the city of Grand Junction, Colorado. Spectacular canyons cut deep into sandstone and even granite–gneiss–schist rock formations, in some areas. This is an area of desert land high on the Colorado Plateau, with pinion and juniper forests on the plateau.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Driving the winding Rim Rock Drive at sunrise was magical.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

This was the Serpent Trail. Because I had a limited amount of time, I couldn’t put my backpack on and hike it. But I do look forward to making the trip back to spend more time exploring.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Canyon Monument runs the width of the park with many different rock formations.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

When the road leveled out, I knew I had reached Glade Park, my final destination. The elevation of Glade Park is approx. 7,000 feet. I went to visit the folks I drove up to see and had a great morning. However, this trip ended up being not about the destination, but all about the journey.

Have a great weekend my friends!


35 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. idiosyncratic eye said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:16 am

    Oh wow! Those are stunning images. 🙂

    Like

  2. Annette said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Are some of these HDR? WOW! Had this been just after a little rain? In the North Dakota Badlands a little rain will make all of the colors pop.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:29 am

      Actually Annette, the first 3 are processed in an HDR program. I bracketed and most of the time am able to bring them out just in photoshop but I had a heck of a time lining everything up. This was the first time I resorted to HDR. I know that there are a lot of haters out there because it’s so overdone but, I haven’t done it yet so I feel I should get the O.K. 🙂
      And unfortunately, this place does not see much rain but I know what you mean. Here in Wyo, when we get a rain or a storm is rolling in, the light looks HDR. For example, check out this entry I did a while back when a storm was rolling in. https://leahyetter.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/rains-a-gonna-fall/
      Believe it or not, this is not HDR.

      Like

  3. Seasweetie said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:20 am

    Gorgeous images!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:24 am

      Thank you! It was ONE of the most beautiful places I’ve ever driven through.

      Like

  4. hellosonya said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:26 am

    You did a wonderful job capturing those sun rays. I mean, 3rd picture down, Wow.

    Cheers!
    Sonya | sonyaleonphotography.com

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:31 am

      Thank you! I love it when the rays shoot through like that. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  5. barbaramattio said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Fantastic. Wow. Just beautiful.

    Like

  6. Bespoke Traveler said, on August 17, 2012 at 11:33 am

    Beautiful photos. You capture the clouds and light well. Love the 1st and 3rd photos. Thanks for sharing. Cheers.

    Like

  7. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on August 17, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Oh, wow! Stunning!

    Like

  8. Lijin said, on August 17, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    Awesome Snaps! Liked the first three more!

    Like

  9. Debra Kolkka said, on August 17, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    Incredible photos!

    Like

  10. scrapydo said, on August 17, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Lovely photos and place. I enjoyed going with you on your journey. Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

  11. eyes cast down said, on August 17, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    Those photos are magic.

    Like

  12. Ellen said, on August 17, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    spectacular place!!!!! and great pictures!!
    have a very nice weekend you too!!!

    Like

  13. southernfriednewjersey said, on August 17, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous pictures! Lovely!

    Like

  14. suzysomething said, on August 17, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    Leah, once again I want to ask your permission to use your photos….I’d like to post the ones of the Park either on Pinterst and/or on my own blog for photography. With appropriate credits, of course.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 27, 2012 at 10:41 am

      Sorry Suzy, I missed this comment earlier. Sure thing, I hope I’m not too late getting back to you. Thanks you for asking and sharing! You’re the best!

      Like

  15. Katie said, on August 17, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    Great pictures! I was born in Grand Junction and raised in Gunnison. Our 8th grade field trip was a hike through the valley of National Monument. Quite an experience!

    Like

  16. Martine Roch Studio said, on August 18, 2012 at 12:13 am

    Fabulous photographs ! Wonderful landscape. I want more !!!!

    Like

  17. Lynne Otter photographer said, on August 18, 2012 at 1:27 am

    Ciao Leah, great shots, wonderful exhilarating scenery thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  18. Gary Yetter said, on August 18, 2012 at 6:38 am

    … Absolutely Breathtaking!!!

    Like

  19. cookiesrainandlove said, on August 18, 2012 at 7:00 am

    Wow, love every picture! So, so beautiful. 🙂

    Like

  20. Cal Common said, on August 18, 2012 at 7:45 am

    I look forward to your posts and photos. Great stuff.

    Like

  21. Roselinde said, on August 18, 2012 at 8:06 am

    Wow, absolutely fantastic post.

    Like

  22. cooking with audrey said, on August 18, 2012 at 8:27 am

    wow, it almost doesn’t look real. great images!!

    Like

  23. WANDA GARCIA said, on August 18, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    GREAT PIC-SURE ENJOY THEM

    Like

  24. joshbakerwriter said, on August 18, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    Great photos. Although I’m not an expert photographer, I know what I like! I definitely agree with the comment about way the sun comes across in that third photo. I’d love to spend some time in that area hiking or climbing.

    Like

  25. lexy3587 said, on August 20, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Your photographs are amazing! The sun and the clouds, and the striations on the rocks… wow. I need to go there.

    Like

  26. f-stop mama said, on August 20, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    Absolutely beautiful photos. They make me want to go there and see it for myself. Wow…thanks for sharing you wonderful work!

    Like

  27. The Style Dancer said, on August 21, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    I get a weekly update from my Reader and look at your blog every week – I am always in awe of your beautiful photography – keep it up. Best, David

    Like

  28. leahyetter said, on August 27, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Wow, thanks for the compliments everyone! You must go see this for yourself. It’s absolutely incredible. And this is just from the east side. Apparently there are sand dunes and other beautiful wonders of nature be explored here. I hope to go back next year or in the fall sometime.
    Thanks Again!

    Like

  29. abdohodali said, on September 5, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    Reblogged this on Abdohodali's Blog.

    Like


Leave a Reply

