Uprooted Magnolia

Chasing Butterflies

Posted in Horses, Nature, Photography by leahyetter on May 22, 2012

We have a crew coming out for a branding soon so Patrick is getting rides in on the horses after their long winter of staying in the corral and pigging out on yummy hay. They need the exercise and he likes to get them a little tired out before he puts shoes on them. Horses can be a little ornery when told what to do after months of doing what they want.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

After unsaddling a couple horses the other evening, I walked out of the tack room and was swarmed by butterflies and moths. It was unreal, they must have hatched at the very moment I was unsaddling.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

So I put the tired horses back in the corral and ran around for an hour with my camera.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

They were exploring every bush and every flower and they wouldn’t stay still long enough to be photographed. But I like these two, hope you do too!


20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissakoski said, on May 22, 2012 at 7:42 am

    Love these photos! Good luck with the upcoming shoeing! Last week I experienced a similar situation while running through the woods..suddenly there were what seemed to be hundreds of butterflies in the air, on the ground and on all the surrounding plants. Amazing! (and I didn’t have my camera, but still special to experience the moment)

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on May 23, 2012 at 10:35 am

      Thanks Melissa! Yeah, it was wild and so sudden! I didn’t have my camera at that moment and I’m not even sure I would have been able to focus on anything because they were flying so fast and furious.

      Like

  2. Gracie O'Tripp said, on May 22, 2012 at 8:15 am

    Wonderful. Catching butterflies is difficult.

    Like

  3. passport2art said, on May 22, 2012 at 8:46 am

    Beautiful photos of butterflies.

    Like

  4. monsterfred said, on May 22, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Excellent captures !

    Like

  5. Lenore Diane said, on May 22, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Gorgeous! The butterflies are beautiful, and I really like the shot of Patrick riding the horse. Great pictures, Leah.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on May 23, 2012 at 10:38 am

      Thanks Lenore! I love capturing him riding. He makes it look so easy. He was born in the saddle, I guess that’s why he’s so fluid when he rides.

      Like

  6. Roberta said, on May 22, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    We don’t have swarms of butterflies, so when I do see one I want to chase it..Lol!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on May 23, 2012 at 10:39 am

      I know what you mean! They just draw you in with their colorful flutter. Like batting eyelashes or something.
      Thanks for stopping by Roberta!

      Like

  7. David Goorevitch said, on May 22, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    Lovely! What lens did you use for the butterflies?

    Like

  8. scrapydo said, on May 22, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    Lovely to be with you on your butterfly hunt

    Like

  9. katieatthekitchendoor said, on May 22, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    I love that opening shot! Makes me want to be out somewhere with sky. I have just recently found your blog and am stunned and inspired by your photography, and your stories.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on May 23, 2012 at 10:42 am

      Thanks Katie and welcome! I appreciate for compliments, thanks for commenting. I hope you’ll continue to join me here. 🙂

      Like

  10. revellingsjoy said, on April 18, 2014 at 11:15 am

    Reblogged this on Crystal Harrison.

    Like


Leave a Reply

