Uprooted Magnolia

Our Little Pinrow

Posted in Calving, Nature, Photography by leahyetter on April 2, 2012

Patrick calls him Pinrow. Don’t know where he got that from but I’m going with it… I guess.
Anyway, our little bum is doing well and is a handful. After we got him from the meadow to the barn, it was a battle to get him to take the colostrum and his first feeding. He definitely wouldn’t have made it with his mother. He was so limp that first day and would not have gotten up to suck.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

On the second day, once the colostrum had settled in his belly, we were finally able to get him on his feet. He stumbled around for a while like he’d had one too many.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

He would jump and buck and really enjoyed his new found legs. I think he startled himself with his smooth moves.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Then he fearlessly came right up to me. I had to get Patrick to help me get him started on the bottle. He just didn’t know what he was doing since he was out of sync with his instincts to suckle his mother’s teat. But it didn’t take more than a day for him to get a handle on the bottle.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

And now, he’s happy and healthy and full of life. Therefore getting in the pin with him can be brutal for me. He will chase and butt me so hard with his head, it’s better to just feed him through the fence.

As much as I enjoy feeding him, it would be so much better if he had a cow momma. All I can do is keep him alive and well. I can’t provide for him what a real momma would. He’s a sweetheart and I love looking in his deep blue eyes while he sucks. So, I’ll simply cherish this time with him while I’ve got it. ♥


12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. anaslense said, on April 2, 2012 at 8:26 am

    So cute! 🙂

    Like

  2. cravesadventure said, on April 2, 2012 at 10:07 am

    That face is oh so cute – thanks for sharing! Here’s to getting the little guy big and strong!

    Like

  3. Miss Molly said, on April 2, 2012 at 11:24 am

    This seriously makes me miss my days in Iowa and Ohio – love the little guy!

    Like

  4. Tisha Clinkenbeard said, on April 2, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    Reblogged this on Found Round & About and commented:
    Another great one by Uprooted Magnolia!

    Like

  5. idiosyncratic eye said, on April 2, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    So cute, he’s such a sweetie! 🙂

    Like

  6. Nina C. said, on April 3, 2012 at 5:49 am

    Aw,what a cutie!:)

    Like

  7. Booksphotographsandartwork said, on April 5, 2012 at 11:14 am

    He is so handsome! Just look at that gorgeous red hair and beautiful blue eyes. Now that is a reason to go outside! Wish I could come and help you.

    Like

  8. Rayya said, on April 14, 2012 at 6:49 am

    Pinrow is one handsome calf. Great idea giving him the bottle through the fence. They can get quite demanding with their head butts 🙂

    Like

  9. […] Our little Pinrow has a new cow mommy. Yay for him. Sad for me. […]

    Like

  10. […] Our little Pinrow has a new cow mommy. Yay for him. Sad for me. […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

