Uprooted Magnolia

Wyoming Longhorns, Part II

Posted in Photography, Ranching by leahyetter on February 29, 2012

©Leah Yetter Photographer

This cow is Patrick’s favorite. He likes her coloring and the rings around her horns. The rings, as you may have already guessed, tell the age of the cow. This girl is thirteen this year.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Kaylynn(sp?) stood proud and beautiful, even with a sprig of hay hanging out of her mouth.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Um hey pretty lady. Who does your makeup? It’s gorgeous dahling.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I had to put the wide angle lens on for this shot. She was following me closely, probably with the hope I’d feed her some cake.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

This dark beauty was by the creek the whole time. She was uninterested in her guests.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Scratch that itch babe. You know she’s hitting the target because look at her tongue!

©Leah Yetter Photographer

At the end of our tour, the sun went behind the clouds and it got colder. These yearlings met us at the truck but were a little shy and didn’t stick around long.
We had a great time visiting with the Wilson’s and the cattle and look forward to going back when it warms up!


23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. manoy maniniyot said, on February 29, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Very nice pictures…. they look so gentle. We went to a safari in Ohio and we were feeding different animals, and longhorns is one of them, the magnificence of those long horns was great but it scared us. It seemed like anytime they swing their heads, our car could get smashed. But we enjoyed the trip. 🙂

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 29, 2012 at 7:55 am

      Thank you! They really were quite gentle, even with the babies on them. They are so aware of their horns though. They can judge the distance and space that they have to maneuver in and it’s very impressive. Glad you enjoyed your trip!

      Like

  2. Karen Chandler said, on February 29, 2012 at 7:58 am

    Great photos, Leah! They do look gentle and intelligent. I love how they have unique coloring.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 29, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      Thanks Karen. They are gentle because their owners are gentle and handle them with such care. Not sure I’d want to get in a pen with a wild one! 🙂

      Like

  3. lexy3587 said, on February 29, 2012 at 8:10 am

    these are such pretty cows! though the yearlings look a bit silly with their pencil-straight nubs sticking out the sides of their heads 😛

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 29, 2012 at 3:13 pm

      Oh I know! They kind of look like little devil horns don’t they? Oh the awkward teenage years, eh? 🙂

      Like

  4. Laurie said, on February 29, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Great pics Leah! I agree with Patrick about the coloring on that one. Gorgeous!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 29, 2012 at 3:11 pm

      Thanks Laurie! She is gorgeous isn’t she?! I saw a few calves with similar coloring and I wonder if hers own calf will turn out like her. Just love ’em!

      Like

  5. Tisha Clinkenbeard said, on February 29, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Reblogged this on The big picture view for Tisha and commented:
    More of the fabulous Longhorns!! I tell ya- I’m jealous of this lady’s life some days!

    Like

  6. Lenore Diane said, on February 29, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Part II was as wonderful as Part I. Fascinating animals. I love the angle of the shot just below the dark beauty. From the side, the horns are misleading in size (as in small).

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 29, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      Oh I know, very misleading. Glad you like these Lenore. Hope you like tomorrow’s. Just one more left but she’s my favorite. 🙂

      Like

  7. cravesadventure said, on February 29, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Loving the photos – thanks for sharing:)

    Like

  8. Ellen said, on February 29, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    OH MY!! those are longlonghorns!!! you say they are gentle, and I believe you but if I had seen one of them coming towards me with those long long horns, I would have been afraid. Now I now they can be trusted! isn`t it amazing mother nature? a good thing I was born as a human being and not as a longhorn. My sense of space is null, I would suffer from chronicle horn-ache if I were one of them!!! LOL

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 29, 2012 at 3:06 pm

      Ha! horn-ache. Hilarious!! They are gentle because their owners are gentle with them. If you saw one in the wild, I don’t know if you’d want to challenge her! Yeah really, I’d struggle with space too with those things. I don’t know how they do it. Must be really heavy.

      Like

      • Ellen said, on February 29, 2012 at 3:19 pm

        don`t worry!! I wouldn`t challenge the gentle ones either!! just in case!! but probably I`d like to be near them. You took really beautiful pictures!! they were good models!
        I imagine they are heavy and I could lose my balance!!

        Like

  9. cpinkney said, on February 29, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    Lovely, lovely photos! Great work, as always.

    Like

  10. idiosyncratic eye said, on March 1, 2012 at 9:40 am

    I love the spotty ones! 🙂

    Like

  11. Booksphotographsandartwork said, on March 25, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Beautiful but scary looking!

    Like


Leave a Reply

