Uprooted Magnolia

Second Day with Poco and the Filly

Posted in Horses, Photography by leahyetter on February 8, 2012

Wasn’t sure what to expect on day two. February is not ideal for a horse to give birth out here in the low temps but since this wasn’t planned, we leave it up to nature.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I thought I’d find our new colt and her momma inside the barn on her first snowy morning but when I walked up to check on them, they were outside taking it all in.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

By afternoon the sun came out and it was a great time for a nap to soak in the warmth.
When she’s about 3 weeks old, we’ll have a good idea what she will look like as a full grown horse. Her color, her build, etc. Right now she’s all legs.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

In the evening we separated Kate from the big herd of geldings and mares and put her in the pasture with Crazy Alice and Pepper. They ran her hard until she was fed up and showed them who was boss.
This will be the first time Kate gives birth and when she finally does, we’ll move her in with Poco and the filly.


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lenore Diane said, on February 8, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Leah, again I am overcome with emotion. I feel so silly. I’m also trying to figure a place to hang these photos of yours. The shots of Poco and the filly are wonderful. I wish I had a cabin – I’d fill the cabin with many of your pictures.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 8, 2012 at 9:48 am

      You’re so sweet Lenore! I’d love to decorate your cabin! 😉
      As I posted this, Kate had her colt. Everything looks okay even though the ground is frosty. We think it’s a girl but we’re staying back for a little while so they can bond. I’ll of course have pics for you soon. 🙂

      Like

  2. carol said, on February 10, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    I was sure hoping that Kate would wait to have her baby until Valentines Day…. I sure wanted a Cupid!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 11, 2012 at 10:32 am

      I KNOW! But like I said on the phone the other night, the other horses ran her pretty hard. I was sure she was going to give birth any minute. Carol, I am so in love with these little ones!!!

      Like


Leave a Reply

