Uprooted Magnolia

Because She Can

Posted in Photography, Ranching by leahyetter on January 23, 2012

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Couple Things…

1) Just like humans, cows use their tongues to drink and break down food. But did you know that they curl their very large tongue around the grass and feed they eat? She then chews her food, swallows, then regurgitates the food as cud to be chewed again.

2) The average cow moves its jaw (and tongue) 40,000 to 60,000 times per day just chewing food.

But why does a cow stick her tongue up her nose? Well, because she can.

How’s that to spice up your Monday.

P.S. #249 says your eyes would water too if you had to stand out in this roaring wind today.


19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. RealRanchWife said, on January 23, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    Hahahaha! I have been trying to capture that “event”, too! I crack up when I see it…

    Like

  2. obrienspix said, on January 23, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    What an awesome “close-up”.

    Like

  3. Roberta said, on January 23, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    She sure can..

    Like

  4. Lenore Diane said, on January 23, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    That red beauty makes me smile, even if she is sticking her tongue in her nose.

    Like

  5. Katie said, on January 23, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    Perfect picture with perfect caption! I’m afraid to show it to my sons (ages 27 and 25) because they might see it as a challenge and hurt themselves. Sometimes they aren’t very bright (more time than I care to admit!).

    Thanks for making me smile!

    Like

  6. Lynne Otter photographer said, on January 23, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Hey, this made me smile! Lynne

    Like

  7. melissakoski said, on January 24, 2012 at 6:16 am

    Great title Leah! (:

    My eyes water in cold weather and gentle wind….. pretty much all the time! Hope you get a wind break for a few days in a row soon!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 24, 2012 at 10:00 am

      Thanks Melissa! I’ve been asked “Leah, do you know why that Elk is scratching his ‘boys’ with his antlers? Because he can.” I figure it’s the same for cows too. 🙂

      Like

  8. idiosyncratic eye said, on January 24, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    Ni-ice! I love the light and colour in the image though. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

  9. idiosyncratic eye said, on January 24, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    PS. I’ve just thought. Maybe it’s because she can’t get her finger up there?! O:)

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 25, 2012 at 1:14 pm

      No fingers but can you imagine trying to get her hoof up there?!! 🙂

      Like

  10. Sheila T Illustrated said, on January 26, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    Holy, Cow! LOL! Great close-up!

    Like

  11. malanyt said, on January 30, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    I have only recently fallen in love with cows. I have been a City girl all my life and recently introduced to farm life via my boyfriend.
    This picture is great! Thanks for showing 🙂

    Like

  12. Booksphotographsandartwork said, on February 3, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    Ha I love this picture. So cute. I think cows are so beautiful. Poor things have no tissue to use and we all know how runny a nose gets in the cold.

    Like

  13. Lindsay Thomas said, on February 10, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    hehe, that’s hilarious.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 10, 2012 at 5:02 pm

      Ha! Glad you like this one. They are so funny with their big prickly tongues. 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

