Uprooted Magnolia

Meet BK Kitty

Posted in Photography by leahyetter on January 18, 2012

©Leah Yetter Photographer

This is BK Kitty (Black Kitty Kitty). She is black as night with the brightest yellow eyes. I know the name isn’t all that creative but when I give an animal a schmooshy name, I get very attached. Because she’s an outside cat and a wanderer, the generic name gives us distance as I’m trying not to get too close. She hangs out on the front porch and with her  boisterous singing voice, has successfully adopted us.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

She is so sweet and oh so hyper. She doesn’t sit still for our photo shoots and she’s always on point. So serious in her hunting, she has her eyes and ears peeled at all times. She follows me around the ranch on my frequent photo hunts. She slinks through the tall grass and peeks through with those bold, yellow eyes.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Hopefully I haven’t crossed your eyes or given you a headache with this shot. But it’s a perfect example of her not being very cooperative on our photo shoots. As soon as I get her composed she moves in too close and I can’t focus.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

So I put the wide angle lens on and captured her after her meal.
With the windchill, the temperature was about 5 below zero yesterday. I couldn’t go beyond the porch without my face hurting from the roaring winds and freezing temps. I’ve made a very warm fleece bed for BK in our shed and she has a cozy place to stay during the cold days. Patrick says she’s been around the ranch for a few years now and has weathered many cold winters. She’s a tough one and I’m happy to have her around. The only one that doesn’t care too much for her is my inside kitty, Matilda. But that’s a story for another time.


9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tisha Clinkenbeard said, on January 18, 2012 at 10:32 am

    The first picture is just mesmerizing. The colors are phenomenal! And I love the eyes!

    Like

  2. Lenore Diane said, on January 18, 2012 at 10:42 am

    Great pictures of an awesome cat. Thanks for giving BKK shelter.

    Like

  3. pinkunderbelly said, on January 18, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Wow, those eyes are something! I’m so glad she has a warm place to curl up.

    Like

  4. Sheila T said, on January 18, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Just another example of why you deserve The Versatile Blogger Award. Congrats, Leah. To accept, read my post on sheilatphotography.wordpress.com

    Like

  5. Debra Kolkka said, on January 18, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    What a beautiful cat!! Great photos – of course.

    Like

  6. annaannieandy said, on January 18, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    She is lovely. I think she may be wincing in the last pic……….something like: “gee my bum’s cold on this snow – can you hurry up and take the shot?!” LOL No wonder she keeps moving.

    Like

  7. idiosyncratic eye said, on January 20, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    Great photos, can’t wait to hear about Matilda’s side of the story. 🙂

    Like

  8. Ellen said, on January 27, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    I like her!!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

