Uprooted Magnolia

Knee Deep

Posted in Horses, Photography, Winter by leahyetter on December 23, 2011

©Leah Yetter Photographer

White, powdery snow is up to our knees out here! I had a heck of a time walking to explore yesterday morning, especially with cameras strapped to me. I made it to the horses and as soon got near, Pepper pulled his head up with a mouth full of grass and ran right up to the fence. His winter coat is covered in icicles and snow. He and Crazy Alice visited with me by the fence for a while until they dropped their heads back down to look for more grub. I went back to the house and put another log on the fire. Brrrrrr.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I jumped in the truck with Patrick later in the day to help with a few chores around the ranch. It was a beautiful evening with a light pink and blue glow in the sky. It was so still and quiet, all I could hear was the river running underneath the ice in the distance.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

But this morning is a completely different story. The wind is blowing about 30 mph and the chill is about 10 below. Needless to say, getting firewood this morning was no fun. I’m not going out there with my camera so this is a shot from the window.
Hard to say if we’ll be snowed in for Christmas. The road out of the ranch could very well be drifted in and four-wheel drive can’t even get us out of that. But we are fortunate to have power, wood, and groceries. The sun us rising as I type this and the sky is clear and blue. It will be interesting to see how today plays out.


18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cherokeebydesign said, on December 23, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Awesome photos.

    Raven

    Like

  2. Lenore Diane said, on December 23, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Fantastic pictures, Leah. I love the shot of Pepper, as well as the colors in the fence shot. I may have to visualize the shot of Pepper on my wall…. Next year. (smile)

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on December 23, 2011 at 8:53 am

      Thanks Lenore. I wasn’t sure about the fence post image. I’ve seen so many “fence in the snow” images but I loved the color in the sky. I bet Pepper would love to be on your wall next year! Hope you weathered the storms safely there in Georgia. 🙂

      Like

  3. melissakoski said, on December 23, 2011 at 8:34 am

    Aw Leah it looks so lovely! We are still waiting for our first snow so I’m a little jealous… not of today’s bitter cold and wind, but of your adventure in the snow. Merry Christmas!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on December 23, 2011 at 8:51 am

      Merry Christmas to you too! Now that the sun us up, it looks beautiful and we’re hoping the wind goes down so we can hay the horses. As of now, the hay will just blow away and they won’t get any breakfast.

      Like

  4. Cat said, on December 23, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Gorgeous photos!

    Like

  5. Alena Nash said, on December 23, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Beautiful as always…I wondered if you were covered in snow. Enjoy the pics by day and the fire by night!

    Like

  6. Laurie Bartolo said, on December 23, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    Beautiful photos, Leah! I was hoping for a White Christmas here, but I don’t think that’s going to happen this year. Hope you enjoy your Christmas in your winter wonderland!

    Like

  7. Ellen said, on December 23, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    That is a white X-mas!!!!! Stay in by the fire, and have a very very happy time!!!!

    Like

  8. Eden said, on December 24, 2011 at 10:00 am

    Lovely shots 🙂 I especially like the one of the horse.

    Like

  9. f-stop mama said, on December 24, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Love the photos! Wyoming looks like a beautiful place. What a wonderful place to live and so many great opportunities for photography

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on December 24, 2011 at 10:35 pm

      Thank you! It IS beautiful and I’m having a great time exploring the land with my camera. Thanks for coming by!

      Like

  10. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on December 24, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Snowed in for Christmas? Sounds romantic! I hope you and Patrick have a wonderful holiday!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on December 24, 2011 at 10:34 pm

      Well, we should be snowed in but we’re a little stubborn. We’ve busted through some snow drifts to get out and visit family. You have a wonderful Christmas Vickie! I know you will with that brand new bundle of joy you are holding in your arms. I’m so happy for you both! 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

