Uprooted Magnolia

Sage Grouse: hens and chicks

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on August 31, 2011

I tagged along on a trip to the Laramie Plains to check cattle. Finally, I saw a Sage Grouse.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

In the tall grass was a group of hens and their chicks.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

They spotted me but continued to graze on sagebrush and insects.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Sagebrush, I learned, is approximately 60% of their total food intake.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Off they went without me getting too close. I hope to see more soon. Apparently the males strut like turkeys during mating season and have two yellowish sacs on the neck, kind of like a pelican, and are inflated during courtship. They make the neatest sounds, people say the sagebrush sings during mating season.


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 300hikes said, on August 31, 2011 at 8:18 am

    I love these photos.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 31, 2011 at 8:21 am

      Hey, thanks! I was so excited to see these ladies. I hope to see some males some time. According to pics I’ve seen, they are really neat looking with pointy feathers with a bright white chest.

      Like

  2. misswhiplash said, on August 31, 2011 at 8:21 am

    Thank you Leah, I have never seen those type of birds before. Now I know more than I did before

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 31, 2011 at 8:31 am

      Glad you like them. They are really neat birds. Unfortunately they really struggle with disease like West Nile from mosquitoes. But these girls looked nice and healthy!

      Like


Leave a Reply

