Uprooted Magnolia

Goodnight Ladybug

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on August 29, 2011

©Leah Yetter Photographer

I hope you all on the east coast  are safe and recovering from the battering of Irene. We had a fairly uneventful weekend, except we did get rain yesterday. A lot of it. Some areas got a pounding, some got a trickle. Not sure what Squaw Mountain got but she sure could have used it last weekend. She’s a little smokey here and there but the worst of it is over. I hope to get up there to survey the aftermath one of these days.

On my walk through a sunflower patch yesterday evening, I had to watch out for stinging ants on their stems and leaves. And then I saw a ladybug, settling in for the night.

Onward and upward my friends, hope you are having a great start to your week!


6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lenore Diane said, on August 29, 2011 at 11:14 am

    I love this picture, Leah. I think my son would like it, too. Ladybugs are one of his favorite insects.
    Glad you had a quiet weekend.

    Like

  2. misswhiplash said, on August 29, 2011 at 11:27 am

    thank you Leah for that lovely ladybird picture, can anyone tell me why they are ladybirds in UK and ladybugs in US

    HAVE A GOOD WEEK YOURSELF MY DEAR

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 31, 2011 at 8:22 am

      I don’t know, I guess because it’s an insect it’s called ladybug. I’ve never heard of ladybird. We’ll have to look into that!

      Like

  3. Margie said, on August 29, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    Sunflowers and ladybugs – two of my favorites!

    Like


Leave a Reply

