Uprooted Magnolia

Wheatland Garden Tour

Posted in Local, Photography by leahyetter on August 26, 2011

I attended the 3rd Annual Wheatland Green Harvest Festival Master Gardens Tour last week. I was so happy to go with my friends Clark and Lynette to discover these hidden gems.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Click on these fresh veggies to view the entire garden tour.

Nancy Munier’s garden was quaint and ever so lovely. She walked us through her minty ground cover, around her pot and container gardens and through a trellis into a small veggie garden.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Click on the black raspberry to view the entire garden tour.

Next we went to the garden of LeRoy Jons. He has installed a moveable tunnel greenhouse with berries and veggies planted inside. He also has a field of many types of berries and various vegetables. He was kind enough to let us taste the berries. MMM MMM.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Click on the young eggplant to view the entire garden tour.

Our third stop was the High Tunnel Greenhouse near the fairgrounds Their main objective is to demonstrate the benefits of extending the growing season for vegetable production here in Wyoming. They are having quite the success. The peppers and eggplant are unbelievable.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Click on the farm Fresh Produce to view the entire garden tour.

Taylor Bush is a junior in high school who started his garden 3 years ago. He says it beats having a “real job” so he can have time for school sports. He sells from his home as well as at the Farmers Market every Saturday in downtown Wheatland.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Click on the sweet lily pads to view the entire garden tour.

I could have stayed in this oasis all day! Lee and Ellen really do have paradise in their backyard. We loved viewing her overgrown yet lovely greenhouse, fragrant herb garden, and the pond filled with lily pads.

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Click on the vineyard grapes to view the entire garden tour.

As the sun was going down, we puled into the driveway of Sally Sanchez, owner of the Sybille Canyon Vineyard. I was surprised to learn there is a vineyard in Wheatland. She has approximately 400 plants and is having great success. She says she is selling grapes by the “bucket” to local winemakers.

Click on any of these images to view more images captured from these marvelous gardens. It was very inspiring and who knows, I may try one next year.

Have a great weekend my friends. See you at the market!


7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bookbabie said, on August 26, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Wow, looks like you had a great day with lots to photograph!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 31, 2011 at 8:35 am

      Thanks, yes it was. We didn’t even make it to all the gardens. I hope to have one of my own next year. This was very inspiring and I learned a lot.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. melissakoski said, on August 26, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    So many beautiful shots Leah! It looks like a wonderful day.

    I had no idea I could possibly grow eggplant until today. I’m going to try it next year. (: I loved the progressive pictures of the growth…. It reminds me a bit of the monarch exposing its chrysalis.

    My best friend moved to northern Michigan last summer and has been active in the local farmer’s markets from the get go. It’s been a great way for her to meet wonderful people and earn some extra income. Way to go Taylor Bush!

    How’s the fire? Hope you guys have gotten some rest.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 31, 2011 at 8:34 am

      Thanks Melissa! The mountain is just a crispy hunk of rock and ash. It’s out and we hope for a wet fall and winter to bring some green back to it. But it will take years for a full recovery.
      I hope to have a small garden next year. I was inspired by this tour and learned a lot. I wasn’t very ambitious this year but I’ll push myself harder next spring. Who knows, maybe I’ll get to show off images from my own vegetable garden!

      Like

  3. Carolyn Kraft said, on September 9, 2011 at 8:58 am

    Wow! Beautiful photographs you have here! They are absolutely amazing, and I just can’t stop looking at them! Your writing is also fun to follow! Your life is very interesting, with the cattle and such. Your photographs have so much color and are so crisp and sharp! May I ask what lense you work with and what kind of camera? I have been into photography for a while now, and love to learn new things. 😛

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on September 9, 2011 at 9:38 am

      Hi Carolyn, thank you so much! I LOVE learning new things too! I soaked up everything I could from my mentor and I currently devour the internet for tutorials and inspiration. I shoot with several Canon D models and lenses. 24-70mm, 10-22mm, 100-500mm, the list goes on. I’ve always been pretty uptight about color and density and strive for the best that Photoshop can give me without getting too crazy. Everything I work up digitally MUST look good in print. I’ve worked with Photoshop for 14 years and still learn something new everyday.
      Keep shooting, your work is lovely. 🙂

      Like

  4. A Time of Harvest « Uprooted Magnolia said, on September 23, 2011 at 9:07 am

    […] excited to be photographing the first harvest at a local vineyard this evening. I went on the Wheatland Master Garden Tour last month and discovered this hidden gem. I’m so excited to capture the process before the […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

