Uprooted Magnolia

Baby Turkeys do a Snake Dance

Posted in Nature, Photography, Wildlife by leahyetter on August 3, 2011

Definition for Conga Line: snake dance; a group progression in a single-file serpentine path.
Do not worry, this is not a gruesome tale.(as the title may make it sound)

Yesterday I showed you where the deer and the antelope play. Today I will show you baby turkeys! While I was focused on the deer, I heard quiet clucking. I looked in the patch of tall grass ahead of me and saw several hens.

Occasionally I would see little heads peek up and run to momma. The grass was too tall to get a good view of them but I patiently waited to see where they were going to step to next.

Then one came out in a small clearing.

I looked out onto the road and saw another hen with her 2 babies.

I looked back to the clearing in the tall grass and saw a couple more little ones. This time showing off for the camera and they were starting to file into a single line. They haven’t quite grown into their feathers have they!

This is probably my favorite shot of the baby turkeys by far. I love the conga line across the road. “Look at me Mom!”
I counted 7 baby turkeys in all. Lately, I’ve only spotted them in smaller groups so I was happy to see this many at one time.
 


6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rowe said, on August 3, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    This makes me so happy! Thanks for allowing me to chuckle at my desk.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 4, 2011 at 9:32 am

      Hey Rowena! Glad I could give you a chuckle, I’m still smiling. Their high pitch tweets back and forth to momma is the sweetest. 🙂

      Like

  2. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on August 4, 2011 at 7:37 am

    This makes me smile, too! I was so sad in your other turkey post that you only had a couple, while I watched 8 babies walk back and forth across my yard every day. But I’ve never seen them strut like these little guys 🙂

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 4, 2011 at 9:29 am

      I know! It was great to count all of these. I’m sure there’s more of them but those hens are pretty protective!

      Like

  3. Watching Seasons said, on August 4, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    What photogenic turkeys! May you get more photos of them as they grow up 🙂

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on August 5, 2011 at 3:49 pm

      I know! It’s like they new the camera was clicking and they just had to show off. They are so cute. I shall bring you more. Best!

      Like


Leave a Reply

