Uprooted Magnolia

Fireworks

Posted in Local, Photography by leahyetter on July 5, 2011

We had a nice time watching fireworks illuminate the downtown sky at the fairgrounds last night. I decided to take my new camera out of hiding and work on this challenging shoot. If you’ve tried to shoot fireworks and were unsuccessful, don’t worry, it’s not that easy. I read a couple of tutorials before I went out and these are what I was able to capture. Not the sharpest shots but it was a lot of fun nonetheless.

Some highlights are blown out and there is a little blur but hey, I came back with something and that’s what matters.

And how lucky I was to even capture the fireworks from the heavens. (far right in the image above).
Lightning struck often while the fireworks were going off.

We were with friends and a lot of folks we didn’t know and the commentary by the kids was a hoot. There was a lot of oohs and ahhs and “how’d they do that?” and “sweet” and “whoa”.  They got to play with sparklers and performed for the camera.

I hope everyone had a safe and happy fourth!


9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. misswhiplash said, on July 5, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Wonderful…in fact so good that I can even smell them

    what talent!

    love P

    Like

  2. misswhiplash said, on July 5, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Wonderful..in fact so good that I can even smell the fireworks

    What a talent!

    love P

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on July 12, 2011 at 10:44 am

      Yes! It was so smelly so I wouldn’t be surprised if my camera picked up the smell and passed it along. Nice to hear from you Patricia!

      Like

  3. Jessica @ MyArdentLife said, on July 5, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Awesome, amazing, beautiful! The only fireworks I saw this year and now I feel like I didn’t miss a thing!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on July 12, 2011 at 10:43 am

      Yay! Thanks Jessica! So nice to hear from you. Glad you enjoyed the show! 😉

      Like

  4. Brian said, on July 5, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Awesome shots! Especially the ones with the lightning.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on July 12, 2011 at 10:42 am

      Hey thanks! Can’t believe how lucky I was to capture all of that in one shot. Lightning and fireworks are both difficult shoots on their own much less all at once!

      Like

  5. Cindy Thompson said, on July 6, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Your pictures of fireworks are the best that I have ever seen….bar none!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on July 12, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Thank you! That means a lot Cindy because it was a difficult shoot! These make me love my new camera more and more. 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

