Uprooted Magnolia

A Beautiful Day for a Bull Roundup

Posted in Cattle Roundup, Photography, Ranching by leahyetter on April 22, 2011

The sky was blue and the sun was shining so we decided to ruin a perfect day by gathering the bulls.
Let the profanity commence!

Not really, they were fairly docile and agreeable and only fought a couple of times. If you remember we did this last June and the fighting went on and on and on.

My friend Tex joined me on this trip.

We gathered our 4 bulls and waited by this stream for the guys to gather the 16 others.

Once Patrick topped the hill with the last three, we started to direct them toward the corrals.

They are always misbehaving when they are in a big group like this. They fight, ride each other, go the wrong way and bellow til your eardrums explode, all in a minutes time.

After a slow drive, we got them on the road to the corrals without any mishaps.

Once they are in the corrals, I like to stay on the outside of the fence because getting crushed and stomped on is not on my bucket list.

Today, Patrick will load them on the trailer and take them to the clinic where the vet will test their swimmers. I will not go into detail on how this is done but I will say it is one of the million reasons I’m glad I’m not a bull.


3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nancy said, on April 22, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Tex is a cutie pie. Sadie said to tell him she likes his freckles.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on April 22, 2011 at 11:08 am

      I know! I love him. He was so obedient and he’s not even my dog. He belongs to the hired man helping us calve but he stayed with me while his owner rode horseback. I’ll let him him know Sadie thinks he’s cute. 🙂

      Like

  2. melissakoski said, on April 24, 2011 at 7:17 am

    I’m glad I’m not a bull too.
    I always find your posts so interesting!

    Like


Leave a Reply

