Uprooted Magnolia

Wyoming Longhorns

Posted in Photography, Ranching by leahyetter on February 17, 2011

On the way to check on our cattle (and precious calves) the other day, we drove past a ranch that raises longhorns. They were right at the fence so as usual Patrick smashed the brakes and kicked up a little dirt so I could take photos.

Are those horns on your head? Or are you just surprised to seem me?

Red Roan Brockle Longhorn

I got a call while we were watching them and as I was talking with my client, Patrick grabbed the camera.

Photo by Patrick: Scratch that Itch!

He captured the shot of the day!
She had an itch that only a giant horn could scratch. And I guess if she holds her tongue just so, she’ll satisfy that itch.


 

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on February 17, 2011 at 10:12 am

    You better watch out – Patrick might start a blog of his own with shots like that!

    Like

  2. Janet said, on February 17, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Hi! Loved the longhorn photos. I live in Northwest Washington state – and I’ve always lived in cities, but now live in a much more rural part of western washington. I have ridden my bicycle past a farm that has cattle with really long horns. I didn’t know what they were, as I’d never seen such horns on local cattle. A friend told me they are the Longhorn cattle – just like the ones in your photos! They look like they could take care of themselves if they had to . . .

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 17, 2011 at 11:38 am

      Thank you Janet! Yes, they are raised for their horns and for meat. But they do live a long life because it takes several years to grow those big horns. So basically they get to hang out and eat as much as they want, probably rough house with the others, and pose for photos when this crazy photographer interrupts their quiet afternoon. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog!

      Like

  3. pinkunderbelly said, on February 19, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Being a Texas girl (and a Univ of TX fan), I’m familiar with longhorns and see them from time to time around here, but wow those photos are amazing, both yours and Patrick’s. I love how each animal is so distinct. Beautiful work.

    Like

  4. wherewander said, on February 21, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    precious photos!

    Like


Leave a Reply

