Uprooted Magnolia

Quick Visit with Buffalo

Posted in Nature, Photography, Wildlife by leahyetter on January 25, 2011

We love our long drives through the Sybille Creek Canyon and are always on the lookout for wildlife. Sometimes all we see is a big buck in the distance, the occasional coyote,  or crows and vultures. The Game and Fish is along the road and they are home to a few buffalo. I’ve never stopped for them before but this day I was feeling it. I jumped out of the truck into ankle deep snow and was able to capture this image with the first click.

GF Buffalo 1

Then the biggest guy wasn’t thrilled with me being there and he approached me with a deep growl. He started rubbing and throwing himself into the fence that was separating us. Thank goodness for that fence.

GF Buffalo 2

And so I moved on.
With every photo shoot, there is always a blooper. Whether they blinked or looked away suddenly.

GF Buffalo 3

This guy hoped to pick a winner.


10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on January 25, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Great shots! I stopped there a lot in the first couple of years I lived here, and one time I could tell one of them was getting uncomfortable with me there…but I never expected him to run full speed at me! Thank goodness for that fence, indeed!!!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 25, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      Well, he didn’t really charge at me, sorry I wasn’t clear on that. He just sauntered up, growled, and started vigorously rubbing himself on the fence. Made me a bit nervous.

      Like

  2. Nancy said, on January 25, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Magnificent animal, magnificent photographs!

    Like

  3. WhatLolitaEats said, on January 25, 2011 at 11:46 am

    He looks delicious! 😉

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 25, 2011 at 1:50 pm

      Ugh, really? Just kidding, I know you are a Top Chef. But I am a vegetarian so he doesn’t look tasty to me at all. Just fuzzy and a little scary. 🙂

      Like

  4. Alena Nash said, on January 25, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    Wow!!! How cool to come that close and get these!!! You rock Girl!!! (and I gotta give props to the fence for keeping my girl safe!)

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 25, 2011 at 1:48 pm

      Yeah, the fence would give a little when he rubbed on it and I quickly backed away. I didn’t spend much time with them! 🙂

      Like

  5. Rachel Garza said, on January 25, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Leah! How awesome is that shot?! How is that anatomically possible? Wait, don’t tell me. I really don’t want to know.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 25, 2011 at 1:47 pm

      Ha!Thanks Rachel! I won’t go there…but the cattle do it too! Guess it makes the hay taste that much better. 😉

      Like


Leave a Reply

