Uprooted Magnolia

Rain’s A-Gonna Fall

Posted in Photography, Stormy Skies by leahyetter on January 18, 2011

I know what you are going to ask. You photoshopped the heck out of these didn’t you?  Well the answer is unbelievably, No. I’m shocked too.

This is not HDR (high dynamic range) although I think it’s got the potential. I only did my basic adjustments of auto contrast and lightened shadows. The sky really was this blue and wild.

A rain storm was on the way and it was like this for a couple of hours. Absolutely breathtaking.
I got a great message from my friend Vickie that said, “Are you outside? If not, go out there and check out the clouds. They are amazing. Some are a  little violet in color.”

I was already outside and I shot these on my way to help Patrick move cattle.
Afterward, we checked the river because more water has been released from the reservoir and we stumbled on an ice jam. I’ll share those images with you tomorrow. I do not want to overwhelm your photographic sensors.


11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. arzki said, on January 18, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Really great shots. It’s just amazing when you got the right pictures, without much Photoshopping.

    Congrats.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 18, 2011 at 1:48 pm

      Thanks so much! Yeah, I couldn’t believe when I loaded the raw and converted, that they just appeared in front of me with that richness. The contrast of the dark sky and the sun shining behind me on the gray wintered trees and yellow grass made it look like a painting. Doesn’t look real. Just wish I could have done some portraits in that light!

      Like

  2. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on January 18, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Holy moly! Nice job! I’ve still got to dig through the ones I took on the way back from Chugwater – I caught them from a distance but the color is not as intense.

    Like

  3. Stephanie said, on January 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    wow. Holy moly, fo sho!!

    Like

  4. Geology and the African wilds said, on January 21, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    wow…you are soo Unbelieveable…no photoshoping and they came out this lovely?…I am actually clapping right now

    Like

  5. sheryll said, on January 22, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    Wow!! so beautiful.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 23, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      Thank you, I couldn’t believe what was before my eyes. Thank goodness I was able to grab my camera in time because the sky changes so fast out here. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  6. Nelson McGrath said, on January 23, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Leah, these look amazing. I love when nature puts on a show and you just have to remember to close your mouth and take a photo.
    Stumbled across your blog and I’m loving your photos with the landscape of your locality, mixed in with the livestock and the character you put into it. Keep it up and I’ll keep checkin!

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 23, 2011 at 2:55 pm

      Thank you so much. Sometimes I get so wrapped up in the beauty of the land that I forget to take the picture! 🙂
      But I’m glad that doesn’t happen too often so that I can bring a little peace and beauty to you. Thanks for visiting and I look forward to your next visit. ~Leah

      Like

  7. workingtechmom said, on January 23, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    WOW – these are terrific. We had a good sunny day in Toronto today, but no colors like what you got. Thanks for sharing your lovely views.

    Like


Leave a Reply

