Uprooted Magnolia

Snow Frolic

Posted in Horses, Photography, The Ranch, Winter by leahyetter on December 21, 2010

When I started my walk this morning, it wasn’t snowing very hard. I went to visit the horses and they instantly greeted me.  Sniffing and following me, they seemed bored.

After a few minutes with them, I went to visit the colt and fill her up with some grain and break up her icy water. As I was walking back, I saw the horses frolicking in the snow. The flakes were getting bigger and falling faster than when I started out.

Gus and Cheyenne were going at it. Running around each other, nipping at  necks and legs. Gus, the white horse, would roll around in the muddy snow and Cheyenne would go at him again.

Then they got Kid involved. It became a snowy ring around the posy.

And it started all over again. This time Cheyenne was biting and nipping at Kid.

I had to come back inside and dry off my cameras. The snow is coming down hard and fast. More snowfall pictures to come!


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jbenick said, on December 21, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Absolutely lovely. Thanks for the post!

    Like

  2. Jessica said, on December 22, 2010 at 6:06 am

    SNOWFLAKES!! How did you do that?? Too cool!!! No pun intended. That Cheyenne is always the instigator.

    Like

  3. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on January 4, 2011 at 11:29 am

    That first picture made me laugh outloud! What a ham!

    Like

  4. masterbias said, on March 29, 2013 at 11:51 pm

    You should only shoot in snow. That first shot of the horse sticking his head through the fence looks like something that would win an award at “shooting the west” or something. The snow just adds a nice texture to everything.

    Like


Leave a Reply

