Uprooted Magnolia

The Girls Are Back In Town

Posted in Cattle Roundup, Ranching by leahyetter on November 17, 2010

That’s right! The cowboys got the girls home safely from the Laramie Plains this past weekend. They spent a couple days in the meadows beyond the main house and today Patrick and I got them closer to the house and corrals.

Yeah, that’s me driving the tractor baiting them in with a bale of hay. Patrick and Shadow are behind them pushing them through the gate. When I got out of the tractor, they were so excited to see me.

Just look at the expressions on their faces. Pure joy to see me. It has nothing to do with the yummy feed in this pasture. No, uh uh.

Heads down ladies, we can catch up later. You’re skin and bones, eat eat.

Ha!  Skin and bones my a**.  Look at those bellies and winter coats.

Ahhh, so nice to see you again girls. I’ve missed you.

Thursday all three hundred fifty something of you will be peeing on a stick. So rest up, it’s time to see how the bulls did this summer. See you ladies at 6am!


One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lolitafontaine said, on November 18, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Wow – you’re breeding cows? My my my, how life has changed. Although these ladies would like lovely at the Texas Cattle Company…

    Clayton’s getting a few acres in Concord, MA, next year, to farm – and there’s a chance we’ll get cows, chickens, pigs, and sheep. I’m so excited! I’d love to come out to see you there – it looks so charmingly bucolic. But, in the meanwhile, your stunning photographs provide me with a vicarious way to enjoy your beautiful ranch.

    Like


Leave a Reply

