Uprooted Magnolia

Lessons Aplenty

Posted in Cattle Roundup, Horses, Ranching by leahyetter on September 14, 2010

I learned many things last week and weekend.

Among them is how to ride and work the horse for herding cattle.

Stand up in the stirrups! Tighten the reigns!  Hold onto the horn! Just get off and walk doggone it!

It hasn’t really been that bad, Patrick has been very patient with me and is a great teacher. I still have a long way to go before being even good at it and I’m enjoying the process.

When you’re out like this for hours at a time, you have to stay hydrated. And when nature calls, well ladies you find the nearest shrub out of sight of the others and take care of  business.

So it turns out that the most important lesson I learned this weekend was never, and I mean NEVER squat in a patch of Stinging Nettles.  Yeeeow!!!


One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jessica said, on September 17, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    That’s my girl! I can’t wait to go riding with you. But please point out those Stinging Nettles next time I come visit!

    Like


Leave a Reply

