Uprooted Magnolia

867 Gilchrist Street: the Gilchrist Gallery

Posted in Local, Photography by leahyetter on August 18, 2010

The Platte County Art Guild along with Helen and LeRoy Rutz decided to start a Gallery in an empty retail space in Downtown Wheatland. It is a local artist co-op and they’ve been up and running for a couple of months now.  The art guild welcomed me in with open arms and now I too am a member of the co-op! Yesterday Helen helped me hang a few of my framed prints from my travels to Greece in 2008 and I also hung a few from my Wyoming collection.

Because this is a commission free gallery, the funds are low for obtaining a sign. But I’m sure if we artists put our heads together we’ll come up with something. Helen says it’s already in the works and we’ll be rid of the poster and cardboard sign soon.

My elk duo in the velvet made the front window!

When you walk in the front door, you will be greeted by one of the artists showcased in the gallery. Every member will put in a day or two a month of running the gallery.

There are all kinds of mediums in the Gilchrist Gallery. Paintings, pottery, stained glass, sculpture, photography, jewelry, and all kinds of arts and crafts.

My framed prints, “Rays of Light” and “Sidewalk Pelican”, hang among these beautiful paintings.

“Rooftop Shipwreck” (top left) “The Perfect Loop” (bottom middle) “Clouds:Santorini”, and “Village Windmill” (both in corner).

I’m so excited to be a part of this gallery and I look forward to my first day of “work” in September.

I haven’t met all of the artists but my new friend Victoria Bennett-Beyer has her photography hanging in this gallery as well.

I’d like to invite you to visit our art gallery and to explore our beautiful little town of Wheatland. And if you have any questions, leave it in the comments section or just shoot me an email!


5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. photographyfree4all said, on August 18, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    I think this is an outstanding idea and opportunity. Allow me to wish you all the best from this endeavor! Great shots, too!

    Like

  2. Amanda said, on August 18, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    That is awesome! You must be so proud… I would love to come see. How long is the drive from Atlanta?!?!?

    Like

  3. Victoria Bennett Beyer said, on August 19, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Thanks for the shout-out! I mean to swing by on Tuesday and say hi, but my poor hubby was home from work with food posioning, and I completely forgot! I think your work will be a great addition to the gallery and I know folks will really identify with your ranch shots 🙂

    Like

  4. Nancy said, on August 21, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Great creative endeavor! Best of luck to ALL of the artists, including my favorite one!

    Like

  5. […] Local, Photography by leahyetter on September 30, 2010 Last Saturday was my day to work at the Gilchrist Gallery and the folks were still here. It was ok because they wanted to see it and walk around downtown […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

