Uprooted Magnolia

Sunday Roundup

Posted in Cattle Roundup, Home by leahyetter on May 2, 2010

This morning it was time to gather the cattle to move them to a new meadow. I took the lead in the Rhino and Patrick and Shadow, the cow dog, brought up the rear on foot. I had cake in the back so they were more than happy to follow me.

It was a beautiful morning with blue skies, lots of sunshine and very low winds.

We got them across the river and into the meadow and it was time for cake. When Patrick isn’t looking, I’m spoiling them.

OOPS! He spotted me and grabbed the camera.

Their tongues and rougher than kitty tongues. But they are gentle when they eat from my fingers.

The last of the calves are entering the meadow. We’ll check tomorrow for any stragglers that didn’t run with the herd.

Next it was time to repair the fences in this meadow. You can spot the Ranch back there with the green roof.

We fenced for a couple of hours, turned around and could no longer see the Ranch. Only a storm coming our way. We high-tailed it back to the house.

I spotted these tiny flowers along the way. If you know what this is, will you let me know?

We got home covered in snow. It only lasted a few minutes before the sun came back out and continued to be a beautiful day.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stephanie said, on May 3, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Look at you all bein a rancher! I can’t wait to come see this beautiful land and the animals with my own eyes!! Miss you!

    Like

  2. Kay Yetter said, on May 3, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    Leah, I am really impressed!!!!!!!! I am so proud of you for being so brave and so “I’m going for it”. We miss you and hope to see you soon. Kay

    Like

  3. […] way more often than I do. But I like to think I do some good on these trips. Hey, I’ve got cows eating cake right out of my hands remember? Anywho, we see a lot of wildlife in this wide open space and I can’t help but share […]

    Like

  4. Trailing Back Home « Uprooted Magnolia said, on September 9, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    […] for momma or mooing for baby but we can rest assured the heifers are close to home now. And my favorite girl that eats cake right out of  my hand came right up to me looking quite curious. She licked my hand to be sure I wasn’t holding out […]

    Like

  5. […] they think I’ve got yummy cake for them to eat from my […]

    Like

  6. brunOliveira said, on January 23, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Is that place filled with storms or is just me? And I complain about not being summer yet…

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on January 23, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      You’re funny. Well, the weather is just completely unpredictable out here especially in the hills. And a rain, snow or lightning storm can creep up so fast, you never know when it’s going to hit. But the wind is the most viscous force of nature. It will snow 4 inches one day and the very next day there won’t be any snow on the ground because the wind kicked up at 60 mph and blew it all away. It is our population control. 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

