Uprooted Magnolia

Busy turkeys, Busy cows, means Busy Rancher

Posted in Calving, Nature, Ranching, The Ranch by leahyetter on April 3, 2010

Busy turkeys, Busy cows, means Busy Rancher:

While the calves are being born, the turkey’s are getting down to business if you know what I mean. First I’ll show you the turkeys. This guy was strutting his stuff!

After hanging out with these feathery creatures, we traveled over to see this lady give birth. It was a little messy and she’s a wild one I hear. I stayed back and watched the whole thing from afar. I’ll spare you the graphic shots and just share the sweet ones.

Notice her eyes. She watched me the entire time. I couldn’t take my eyes off of them either. The first 10 seconds he was on the ground he didn’t take a breath. Neither did me or Patrick.

He is just minutes old and she is licking him not only for cleaning, but to stimulate him to get up and suckle.  I was ooohing and awing and she looked right at me and mooed really loudly. She wanted me to leave.

I stayed long enough to watch him stand and look for the pocket (teat). Then I left them alone to bond.


7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stephanie said, on April 5, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Oh my gosh! They are all awesome photos, but that last one is freakin amazing!

    Like

  2. Mechel said, on April 5, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    That is so beautiful!

    Like

  3. Jan said, on April 8, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Leah Leah Leah. this picture brings tears to my eyes. Its a beautiful image and it tells an amazing story. I can see you’ve already found new families to photograph. I miss you though girl. Every day. Love Jan (AKA Janet)

    Like

  4. Mary said, on May 25, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Amazing shot, Leah.

    Like

  5. Over the Moon « Uprooted Magnolia said, on January 22, 2011 at 8:39 am

    […] got more to share with you as calving time is approaching. There will be plenty of cuteness, angry cows and big sticks!  Stay […]

    Like

  6. nancykhicks said, on February 7, 2011 at 7:32 am

    I’m simply amazed at how much you can convey with your photos and a few words. That is a real gift. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • leahyetter said, on February 7, 2011 at 10:05 am

      Wow, thank you Nancy! I hope you continue to enjoy my blog as much as I enjoy doing it! I appreciate you joining me on this journey!

      Like


Leave a Reply

