Uprooted Magnolia

Double Exposure

Posted in Nature, Photography by leahyetter on January 9, 2012

©Leah Yetter Photographer

Remember the old film days? Remember being so upset that you put an exposed roll of film back in the camera and photographed your friends new perm over the same roll you shot grandmas birthday cake? I did that when I was a kid with mom’s camera that held 110 film. I can now look at those pics and laugh but back then it was upsetting. When I was an assistant to the number one photographer in my hometown, there was a system to make sure this didn’t happen. Unexposed film was in one pocket of the camera bag, and exposed went in another.
But, when it came to this Magpie, I had 2 exposures of her that I liked. So I stacked them in Photoshop and gave it some texture. I enjoy illustrating photographs on days we are being pummeled with extreme wind.

Hope you have a great start to your week! It’s a beautiful Monday here so I’m headed out to help shuffle some cattle around. We’ve got to start getting them closer to home because their new bundles of joy will be arriving in the next couple of months!


12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Eden said, on January 9, 2012 at 9:50 am

    Lovely piece Leah.

  2. Laurie Bartolo said, on January 9, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    This is a lovely effect, Leah. And I remember those battering winds when we lived out west…definitely a good day to stay inside and experiment with Photoshop!

  3. Ellen said, on January 9, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    I´t´s fantastic!!!
    Have a very nice week you too!!!

  4. ncprism said, on January 9, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    Beautiful. Looks Japanese, a bit.

  5. Booksphotographsandartwork said, on January 10, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Very, very nice. Really unique and interesting. It would be great blown up huge and framed for a living room.

  6. ken said, on January 11, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Just checked you’ve got 40 mph gusts and 12 degrees. Can’t imagine.

  7. jill meade said, on January 12, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    i just love the picture, and you are learning to identify them so well. back before you were a cowgirl, i don’t remember you shooting much nature. isn’t nature GRAND!!!!!

    • leahyetter said, on January 15, 2012 at 9:44 am

      Thank you Aunt Jill! I didn’t shoot nature back in the day because I was a city girl and didn’t have time for it. I’m so glad I can make the time for it here, it’s so good for the soul. xoxo


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,511 other followers

